Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 20:00 25 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : M*Berto - a Q*bert clone

yock1960

Posted: 02:30am 19 Feb 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This still has a ways to go, with a number of glitches still and more features to add yet, but is playable...with a Wii Classic joystick only, at the moment.

I have never used sprites before, so this is outside my comfort zone...such as it is. And while I have played Qbert, I am no expert and I'm sure that there is and will remain, differences in gameplay.

The biggest issues currently are stray sprites after the occasional collision and a similar issue with incorrect background restoration. Currently, there are only two levels and I have yet to incorporate Wrongway and Ugg.

Let me know of any problems apart from these that you have and I'll see if I can fix them. This is running on firmware 5.07.00b16 on a non-waveshare 400mhz CMM2.

Steve

m-berto_a.zip

Deadreddreadhead

Posted: 11:05pm 19 Feb 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hey Yock1960, I hope you are well?

I haven't got a joystick at the moment so could not play it but your sprites looked cool!

I have just started to work with the MMC2 myself so early days for me to!

I am working through things step by step, I noticed you using the MOD files for sound. If you have time I would like to know how you go about implementing those and what you created the MOD file with? Are MOD files created from WAV samples or are they created with some sort of sound generator or other method?

Thank you.

yock1960

Posted: 12:23am 20 Feb 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post