Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 02:59 14 Apr 2021 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MuP V2, MX170 @40MHz on steroids

Author Message
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 552
Posted: 03:05pm 07 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

For when MMBasic won't cut it:









Edited 2021-03-08 01:12 by Tinine
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4738
Posted: 03:15pm 07 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The code as written appears to only ever action case 12
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 552
Posted: 03:31pm 07 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  The code as written appears to only ever action case 12


If you see the REM, I force it to scan all 12 cases. If I let it action all cases, it's about 2ms quicker:









But now it's not 120,000 scans, obviously.
Edited 2021-03-08 01:33 by Tinine
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4738
Posted: 03:36pm 07 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Still not convinced. Every basic normally executes just one CASE and has an implied break.

The first version does 10000 loops of one case and the second seems to do the same given that it executes at the same speed

What happens if you put a second loop?


for i=1 to 10000
for a=1 to 12

select.....

next a
next i

PS. Its is a great shame bypic don't post their source as they don't support it anymore. It would really fly if ported to one of the faster chips
Edited 2021-03-08 01:39 by matherp
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 552
Posted: 04:01pm 07 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

In the first example, it's all scanning and no variable incrementing. In the second example, it's less scanning but a variable is being incremented.

I have ByPic for the MX370 @80MHz and 512K flash but I love the DIP 170 and I still have 130K+ flash.
Edited 2021-03-08 02:01 by Tinine
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 552
Posted: 04:13pm 07 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post



Paid a penalty for the extra for/next. The inline code is very fast but any sort of a loop incurs a time penalty.

 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2021