Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 14:31 19 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : TSynth and Teensy

Page 2 of 2    
Tinine
Guru

Posted: 01:31pm 19 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Quote  A remarkable time to be alive for tech-oriented musicians !

Oh, no kidding  
I have been a guitarist/singer for the past 46yrs and can hold my own in any band but
technology has opened up a whole new world.

What I have on my cheapie W10 tablet, really is mind blowing:

* Gig performer 3 for my VST host; paid-for but worth it.

* Native Instruments Guitar Rig 5 for amp/fx simulations

* Jam Origin's MIDI Guitar; amazingly deciphers fretted notes (regular guitar pickup) and converts them to MIDI.

* Dozens of soft-synths, drum machines, etc.

* Reaper DAW for creating backing tracks (if I need backing, I prefer to create my own)

It's amazing what I can use at any time whilst keeping within my comfort zone of 50% CPU usage and this is a 1.4GHz Z8350, 4g RAM, 128g storage.

I purchased two of these tablets so I have a backup when gigging.

Volhout
Guru

Posted: 01:43pm 19 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The essential apps I need for my work that are older, I run under WINE in ubuntu linux. Wine has (for these few) a better backward compatibility than W10, even if you select "runs as Windows xxxx".
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS

RetroJoe

Posted: 03:13pm 19 Mar 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Tinine, thanks for sharing - I'll have to check out Jam Origin. I used to have a Roland MIDI guitar pickup that I was never satisfied with due to conversion lag.