Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 07:24 26 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : What are the "big boy" Microcontrollers for?

Page 1 of 3    
thwill

Guru

Posted: 10:31am 26 Apr 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You can tell I'm an electronics novice so feel free to ignore or ridicule this question.

Outside of general purpose computing (and running bloated O/S and application software) what is it in the real world that requires 200 MHz+ Microcontroller's with megabytes of RAM. The AGC was ~ 2 MHz and had < 80 KB and two of those got man to the moon - have programmers just become lazy or is it all to support high-definition touch UIs

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2021-04-26 21:12 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures

JohnS
Guru

Posted: 11:13am 26 Apr 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I suppose as well as GUI (if any) it may help with such as networks (TCP/IP, https, etc).

I'm tempted to say so it can run (insert big slow language).

There are some computationally intensive things, too.

But generally it may just be that the silicon got very fast & cheap so why not LOL

John

robert.rozee
Guru

Posted: 11:59am 26 Apr 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

car engine management, laser printers, satellite decoders, cellphones.

you are right, many things these days are horrendously bloated. but often this is a trade-off between expensive bespoke development time, versus using inefficient off-the-shelf (free) software running on massively over-powered hardware that costs just a few dollars - often little more expensive that a small microcontroller or even dedicated hardware.