Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 10:07 25 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : CMM2: V5.07.01b1

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3839
Posted: 06:19pm 09 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Am I doing something wrong or is there something fishy with the CALL function ?

> 480MHz Colour Maximite 2 G2
MMBasic Version 5.07.00
Copyright 2011-2021 Geoff Graham
Copyright 2016-2021 Peter Mather

> list "call_bug.bas"
Option Base 0
Option Default None
Option Explicit On

Print one%(), two%(), three%()
Print Call("one%"),
Print Call("two%"),
Print Call("three%")
Print Call("one%"), Call("two%"), Call("three%")

Function one%()
  one% = 1
End Function

Function two%()
  two% = 2
End Function

Function three%()
  three% = 3
End Function

> run "call_bug.bas"
1       2       3
0       0       0
Error in line 9: Argument list

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8578
Posted: 08:42am 10 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.01b5

http://geoffg.net/Downloads/Maximite/CMM2_Beta.zip

Fixes two bugs in the CALL function
Improves Mode 12 when used as default with a mouse.
Edited 2021-08-10 18:42 by matherp
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3839
Posted: 11:47am 10 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  V5.07.01b5 ...


Thanks Peter, that seems to have done the trick.

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2021-08-10 21:56 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3839
Posted: 12:10pm 10 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You may not care for this one ... and I may have brought it up before, in which case I apologise, it's because I have bad memory not because I'm trying to be difficult:

> new

> list "cmdline.bas"
Print Mm.CmdLine$

> run "cmdline", --foo
--foo

> *cmdline --foo
--foo

> run , --foo
, XXfoo

> list
Print Mm.CmdLine$


The X's appear as line-drawing characters on the CMM2.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3839
Posted: 12:21pm 10 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

And another one in a similar vein:
> list "cmdline.bas"
Print Mm.CmdLine$

> list "run_test.bas"
RUN "cmdline", foo

> list "execute_test.bas"
EXECUTE "RUN " + Chr$(34) + "cmdline" + Chr$(34) + ", foo"

> run "run_test"
FOO

> run "execute_test"
foo


IMO the output should be lower-case "foo" in both cases.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8578
Posted: 07:19am 12 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V5.07.01b6

http://geoffg.net/Downloads/Maximite/CMM2_Beta.zip
Enhancements to run command

Tom: this should be near release candidate status. Please could you run your full regression tests on this version - thanks
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3839
Posted: 08:49am 12 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  Please could you run your full regression tests on this version - thanks


OK, will do, though referring to them as "full regression tests" is rather overstating their coverage .

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Arno
Newbie

Joined: 19/09/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Posted: 03:29pm 12 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thank you for improving mode 12 Peter, I really like this mode.
One small thing which would be nice when you can look at it is the list command.

When I list a program for the second time, which consists more than one page, I see
some garbage always on the last line when I scroll through the pages.

The editor is working very good and does not show anything like this when I scroll through the code.

My settings are:

> option list
CURRENT Default mode 12 960x540
CURRENT VGA mode 960x540 RGB332
CURRENT DISPLAY 50,100
OPTION USBKEYBOARD DE
OPTION MOUSE 0,0
Edited 2021-08-13 01:31 by Arno
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8578
Posted: 03:35pm 12 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Arno

Does your monitor support mode 14? Same resolution but much more efficient than mode 12 if the monitor likes it
 
Arno
Newbie

Joined: 19/09/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Posted: 04:16pm 12 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter

The Monitor is a BENQ GW2270H, 22 inch (16:9) and mode 14 is supported but looks
not very good. Mode 16 is good when I edit something but not for my program layout.
Please don't bother with that too much, mode 12 is running for me now and I really
appreciate to work with it.
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3839
Posted: 08:25pm 12 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Peter,

If you really want to squash them all I've found one more issue in b6 with RUN and command-line arguments.

Here is a full transcript:

A:/SPTOOLS/FIRMWARE-TESTS/MANUAL-TESTS
21:14 12-08-2021         19  cmdline.bas
21:18 12-08-2021         62  execute_test.bas
21:17 12-08-2021         22  run_test.bas
0 directories, 3 files

> list "cmdline.bas"
Print Mm.CmdLine$

> list "execute_test.bas"
Execute "Run " + Chr$(34) + "cmdline" + Chr$(34) + ", --foo"

> list "run_test.bas"
Run "cmdline", --foo

> run "cmdline", --foo
--foo

> *cmdline --foo
--foo

> run , --foo
--foo

> run "execute_test"
--foo

> run "run_test"
XXfoo


The problem is with the 5th test where again we have line-drawing characters which in b5 we had with the 3rd test.

I should have got a job in our Q/A department I'm as devious and pedantic as those guys & gals.

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2021-08-13 06:31 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5714
Posted: 09:05pm 12 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You should be brilliant at hunting Pokemon...

;)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Arno
Newbie

Joined: 19/09/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Posted: 09:49am 13 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

With a BENQ GL2580H mode 14 image quality is very good and much faster.
Thank you very much Peter.
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024