Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 07:20 29 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Microcontroller fault finding techniques

rogerdw
Guru

Posted: 11:30pm 15 Sep 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Morning all,

I fix circuit boards for a living and generally do ok  ...  though working solo can be a handicap at times because there's no one else to bounce ideas off.

One of my biggest issues can be when I get a board that appears to have a fault around the micro area  ...  and I need to work out what!

Just wondering what techniques you guys use for successful faultfinding  ...  and bear in mind that the gear I fix does not come with any circuit diagrams  ...  the most I will ever get is info on what the board is hooked up to and what it is expected to do.

Once I've checked out the dc supply and clock signals I am at a loss.

I have worked on a lot where the RAM or SRAM chips have failed  ...  so that is an area I focus on  ...  and also a lot where the flash memory chip has failed as well.

Experience has shown me that it is very rarely the micro  ...  though that is not usually an issue because most of them are ROMless micros (fortunately)  ...  so sometimes in desperation I'll replace that as well.

It's after that, that I get stalled and have no tools to get any further.

One big plus is that often I'll have a batch of boards, so can sometimes identify something by using comparative methods  ...  but being all smd components makes it impractical to be swapping parts around. Plus add to that the fact they have thick layers of conformal coating all over them.

Do any of you have techniques or procedures you use to fault find under these conditions.