Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 21:00 21 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : using a macbook pro

     Page 3 of 3    
Author Message
macmite
Newbie

Joined: 12/09/2023
Location: Australia
Posts: 23
Posted: 07:29am 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,
Why can't I copy a file to the SDCard?
The sd card is FAT16 and empty.


> files    
A:/
  <DIR>  .
  <DIR>  ..
00:00 01-01-2000          4  bootcount
00:23 05-10-2023      54852  bu1retic.bas
00:07 01-01-2000       7381  config.html
00:08 01-01-2000       6739  index.html
00:17 25-09-2023      48934  newretic.bas
23:56 24-09-2023         36  picotest1.bas
00:55 05-10-2023      54904  retic.bas
00:08 01-01-2000      48934  sc_retic.bas
15:42 15-09-2023        766  settings.dat
00:08 01-01-2000       6880  setup.html
2 directories, 10 files, 368640 bytes free
> copy a2b "A:/retic.bas" to "B:/retic.bas"
Error : SD Card not found
> option list
WebMite MMBasic Version 5.07.07
OPTION WIFI xTimeCapsule, *************
OPTION TCP SERVER PORT 80
OPTION TELNET CONSOLE ON
OPTION SDCARD GP9, GP14, GP15, GP12
OPTION COUNT GP10,GP6,GP7,GP8
> Connection closed by foreign host.
mack@macmini2018 ~ % telnet 192.168.100.176 23
Trying 192.168.100.176...
Connected to webmite.fritz.box.
Escape character is '^]'.

> mm.info$(sdcard)
Error : Unknown command
> MM.INFO$(CARD)
Error : Unknown command
> print MM.INFO$(SDCARD)
Ready
> CHDIR "B:"
Error : Only valid on current drive
> drive "B:"
> files
Error : SD Card not found
>
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1775
Posted: 12:15pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Is this on a breadboard? If so check continuity of all connections from the top of the Pico pins to the top of the SD module pins. Plenty of people have had issues with breadboard connections.

Some SD cards are very fussy about the power supply, as they can draw high peak current causing the voltage to dip too low. Some have found 100uF from 3.3V to Gnd. fixes it. Others use a 10uF ceramic cap soldered directly to the SD socket pins and a 2.2 ohm resistor in series with the 3.3V supply to the socket helps. The resistor prevents voltage dips affecting the Pico.

If you have cards from a variety of manufacturers try them all. Some are less fussy about the voltage than others.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5707
Posted: 12:23pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Can you rule out that the SD card pins aren't used by the wi-fi?
Is this problem only with the console connected via telnet?
Can you test the SD card (and preferably the same connector) on a non-wi-fi Pico?
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3649
Posted: 01:16pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  macmite said  
> mm.info$(sdcard)
Error : Unknown command

> MM.INFO$(CARD)
Error : Unknown command

You need PRINT (or ?) or similar.

  macmite said  
> print MM.INFO$(SDCARD)

That's it.

  macmite said  
> print MM.INFO$(SDCARD)
Ready

That suggests the MM.INFO$(...) returned little or nothing.

John
 
macmite
Newbie

Joined: 12/09/2023
Location: Australia
Posts: 23
Posted: 01:26pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,
I have changed the CS pin but the same result.
Option list shows no GPxx used by wifi.
Wiring is gold plated silicon dupont connectors.
I have not used this particular 3.3V SD device previously so perhaps it is ???.
I will now try a 100uF cap.

This is before a 100uF cap

mack@macmini2018 ~ % telnet 192.168.100.176 23
Trying 192.168.100.176...
Connected to webmite.fritz.box.
Escape character is '^]'.

> OPTION SDCARD GP13,GP14,GP15,GP12
Error : SDcard already configured
> option list
WebMite MMBasic Version 5.07.07
OPTION WIFI xTimeCapsule, *************
OPTION TCP SERVER PORT 80
OPTION TELNET CONSOLE ON
OPTION SDCARD GP13, GP14, GP15, GP12
OPTION COUNT GP10,GP6,GP7,GP8
> save "B:/retic.bas"
Error : A hard error occurred in the low level disk I/O layer
>
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5707
Posted: 02:45pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Looks like the SD card system is configuring ok. Does this work?
drive "b:
files

You may have a bad card. It has to be 32GB or less in capacity and formatted to FAT 16 or FAT 32.

Also, what SD card socket are you using? Some include series resistors and/or a voltage regulator and those rarely work properly.
Edited 2023-10-08 00:48 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3649
Posted: 03:14pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  Looks like the SD card system is configuring ok. Does this work?
drive "b:
files

I see he posted that the latter fails.

John
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5707
Posted: 03:23pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Oh yes....

The trouble is that I can't really help here as I don't have a mac or a Webmite. Others seem to have used SD cards with the Webmite so I can only assume it's a fault with the SD card, it's socket or the fact that the console is via telnet (or in the way the mac is using it).
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
macmite
Newbie

Joined: 12/09/2023
Location: Australia
Posts: 23
Posted: 04:02pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,
100uf cap 3.3V to Gnd on SD board does not change the hard error.

I have tried a couple of SD card modules including both at 5V (the modules have a 3.3/5V level shifter built in)
The 256MB FAT16 SD card works ok on my Mac (using a SD card reader).
Sometimes I can get a response from B: using FILES.

Once I was able to LOAD a 36byte .bas file from the B: and run it but usually I get
Error : A hard error occurred in the low level disk I/O layer
What exactly is the error?
I have also reformatted the SD card.
Does the 5V input to the SD reader need a 100uF cap?

> files
A:/
  <DIR>  .
  <DIR>  ..
00:00 01-01-2000          4  bootcount
00:23 05-10-2023      54852  bu1retic.bas
00:07 01-01-2000       7381  config.html
00:08 01-01-2000       6739  index.html
00:17 25-09-2023      48934  newretic.bas
23:56 24-09-2023         36  picotest1.bas
00:55 05-10-2023      54904  retic.bas
00:08 01-01-2000      48934  sc_retic.bas
15:42 15-09-2023        766  settings.dat
00:08 01-01-2000       6880  setup.html
2 directories, 10 files, 368640 bytes free
> B:    
> files
B:/
13:32 20-09-2023         36  PICOTES2.BAS
31:63 31-15-2107         -1  ???????X.
0 directories, 2 files
> files
B:/
13:32 20-09-2023         36  PICOTES2.BAS
31:63 31-15-2107         -1  ???????X.
0 directories, 2 files
> load " picotes2.bas"
Error : Could not find the file
> files
B:/
13:32 20-09-2023         36  PICOTES2.BAS
31:63 31-15-2107         -1  ???????X.
0 directories, 2 files
> load "PICOTES2.BAS"
> run
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
> files
B:/
13:32 20-09-2023         36  PICOTES2.BAS
31:63 31-15-2107         -1  ???????X.
0 directories, 2 files
> A:
> load "retic.bas"
> save "B:/retic.bas"
Error : A hard error occurred in the low level disk I/O layer
> save "B:/RETIC.BAS"
Error : SD Card not found
> files
A:/
  <DIR>  .
  <DIR>  ..
00:00 01-01-2000          4  bootcount
00:23 05-10-2023      54852  bu1retic.bas
00:07 01-01-2000       7381  config.html
00:08 01-01-2000       6739  index.html
00:17 25-09-2023      48934  newretic.bas
23:56 24-09-2023         36  picotest1.bas
00:55 05-10-2023      54904  retic.bas
00:08 01-01-2000      48934  sc_retic.bas
15:42 15-09-2023        766  settings.dat
00:08 01-01-2000       6880  setup.html
2 directories, 10 files, 368640 bytes free
> B:
> files
Error : SD Card not found
>
telnet> ^C
mack@macmini2018 ~ %
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8572
Posted: 04:03pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

My bet would be on power supply. The card is mounting OK when SPI is clocked slowly but can't be read or written at normal speed. Either that or the usual issues with series resistors/pullups/level changers etc. but we haven't been given enough info to really help
Edited 2023-10-08 02:05 by matherp
 
macmite
Newbie

Joined: 12/09/2023
Location: Australia
Posts: 23
Posted: 04:29pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I am now using the VBUS pin on the pico W to power the SD reader. ie direct from a 12W USB PSupply but it still gives the "hard error" so it is still a mystery.
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5707
Posted: 04:34pm 07 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'd suggest that you don't even consider using a SD socket that isn't a straight-through one. Not unless you can find someone who has been using the same module with a PicoMite successfully anyway. SD cards are all 3V3 and will connect directly to a Pico without regulators or level shifters.

You are asking the level shifter to work with a 3V3 input and output, which may not be stable.
Edited 2023-10-08 02:50 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
macmite
Newbie

Joined: 12/09/2023
Location: Australia
Posts: 23
Posted: 03:50am 08 Oct 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi
The SD readers which I initially used were used with Arduinos to write one text string at a time to a .CSV file.
I am now using a new SD reader which has no inbuilt level shifters. Powered by 3.3V from the pico W and no 100uF cap.
It now works correctly. Thanks matherp for your comments.

> B:
> files
B:/
13:32 20-09-2023         36  picotest1.bas
0 directories, 1 file
> load "picotest1.bas"
> run
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
> A:
> files
A:/
  <DIR>  .
  <DIR>  ..
00:00 01-01-2000          4  bootcount
00:23 05-10-2023      54852  bu1retic.bas
00:07 01-01-2000       7381  config.html
00:08 01-01-2000       6739  index.html
00:17 25-09-2023      48934  newretic.bas
23:56 24-09-2023         36  picotest1.bas
00:55 05-10-2023      54904  retic.bas
00:08 01-01-2000      48934  sc_retic.bas
15:42 15-09-2023        766  settings.dat
00:08 01-01-2000       6880  setup.html
2 directories, 10 files, 368640 bytes free
> B:
> files
B:/
13:32 20-09-2023         36  picotest1.bas
0 directories, 1 file
> A:
> load "retic.bas"
> B:
> save "retic.bas"
> files
B:/
13:32 20-09-2023         36  picotest1.bas
00:02 01-01-2000      54904  retic.bas
0 directories, 2 files
>
 
     Page 3 of 3    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024