Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 18:39 30 Sep 2022 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : GUI calibrate question

Author Message
ville56
Newbie

Joined: 08/06/2022
Location: Austria
Posts: 19
Posted: 07:39pm 20 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,
i'm fighting with the touch calibration of a waveshare Pico-ResTouch-LCD-3.5 display.

As the gui calibrate command gives an error-loop most the time, even when just briefly pecking at the display, at last i managed to get a complete run though. The result was in error, but the next attempts seem to run smooth, no hastly pecking needed. By playing around i found out that the gui calibrate command takes some arguments, appearently the same as one sees in option list for the touch calibration.

I there any descrition of the arguments, what do they represent? Searching throu the manual and the forum reveals a lot of topics/issues with gui calibrate but no answer to my question.

many thanks in advance,
Gerald
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 4892
Posted: 09:17pm 20 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That seems to be missing from the manual.

You are correct, the arguments after GUI CALIBRATE seen in OPTION LIST are significant.

After calibrating the LCD display, you can copy the
GUI CALIBRATE 0, 262, 327, 929, 702 or similar
line from the OPTION LIST
and use it next time you have to reload the OPTIONs.
Those values are used to save you having to re-calibrate.

I put my calibrate in my list of options save for when I re-configure my system.

It has to go after OPTION TOUCH

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
ville56
Newbie

Joined: 08/06/2022
Location: Austria
Posts: 19
Posted: 09:31pm 20 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jim,

what you suggest was exactly my plan. Keeping the values in my options documentation and copy them after re-init of the picomite to avoid the troubles with the infinite error loop.
I just wanted to understand what the values are, if they are specific for a certain display specimen and if they can be used as a starting point for other specimen of the same breed of display. Fine adjustment then with a second calibrate run to avoid that troublesome error-loop.

thanks again,
Gerald
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 4892
Posted: 09:53pm 20 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The values are: ignore, x zero, y zero, x slope, y slope.
X and y depend on orientation and then they are simple linear equations.

I think I have the order of arguments correct.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 674
Posted: 10:48pm 20 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

", if they are specific for a certain display specimen and if they can be used as a starting point for other specimen of the same breed of display. Fine adjustment then with a second calibrate run to avoid that troublesome error-loop."

The exact values are specific to each display, but as you guessed they are the best way for first configuration of a new display of the same type, with a follow up GUI CALIBRATE to get it exact.
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 348
Posted: 03:17pm 21 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If I have a program that uses ili9341 touch and I have it calibrated for the display then what would other uses of my code have to do to get touch to work like it did on my display please?
 
ville56
Newbie

Joined: 08/06/2022
Location: Austria
Posts: 19
Posted: 07:06pm 21 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just for clarification, my question was based on the fact that, at least for my ILI9844W display, there is an issue with GUI CALIBRATE (endless error loop). This makes it real hard to calibrate the touch part of the display after e.g. loading a new firmware or a OPTION RESET. So the fact that GUI CALIBRATE takes parameters which are not documented but seem to be the same as you can see in the OPTION LIST command, makes reestablishing the calibration easy once you successfully made it. You just note the values and can enter them manually if needed.
And yes, i wanted to make sure for me, this is a reasonable way to do that.
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 674
Posted: 10:35pm 21 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@stanleyella
Calibration must be done before you run a program that requires touch. The calibration values are only valid for other displays of the same type, size, version and orientation configuration.
You could include your LCD configuration and calibration values in the documentation that goes with the program, but not in the program.

In a terminal enter something like this:-

OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP18,GP19,GP16
OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9341, LANDSCAPE,GP15,GP14,GP13
OPTION TOUCH GP12,GP11
GUI CALIBRATE 0, 146, 218, 881, 633
.
Edited 2022-09-22 08:46 by phil99
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2022