Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 23:23 25 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : ESP8266 on CMM2 or "you can't ping the www.backshed.com"

Author Message
andreas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/12/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 187
Posted: 12:20pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello,

I wanted to connect the Colour Maximite 2 to the internet.

My setup is an ESP8266 chip connected to ports 4,6,8,10 of the CMM2. Pin 8 & 10 are for TX/RX of com1: and pin 4 & 6 for VCC and GND. In between I put a dc-dc converter which generates 3.3 volts for the esp from the 5 volts comming from the cmm2. the TX/RX are connected cross over ("null modem") TX Cmm2 to RX ESP and vice versa. The ESP chip enable pin is sourced from the 3.3V comming from the buckboost converter.






a tiny "terminal program" gives the possibility to key in ESP8266_AT commands to test all the features:

' terminal.bas - terminal program to interface with esp8266
'
cls
print "ESP Terminal on COM1"
print "===================="
print
open "com1:115200" AS #1
open "terminal.log" FOR APPEND AS #2
do

 eingabe$ = ""
 ausgabe$ = ""
 
 eingabe$ = inkey$
 
 if eingabe$ <> "" then
   print #1,UCASE$(eingabe$);
 end if
 
 if Loc(#1) >=1 then ausgabe$ = input$(1,#1)
 char = ASC(ausgabe$)
 
 if char > 31 then
   print ausgabe$;
   print #2, ausgabe$;
 end if
 
 if char = 13 then
   print
   print #2, ""
 end if

loop


And this is the result:

OK
AT+RESTORE


OK

ets Jan  8 2013,rst cause:2, boot mode:(3,7)

load 0x40100000, len 1856, room 16
tail 0
chksum 0x63
load 0x3ffe8000, len 776, room 8
tail 0
chksum 0x02
load 0x3ffe8310, len 552, room 8
tail 0
chksum 0x79
csum 0x79

2nd boot version : 1.5
 SPI Speed      : 40MHz
 SPI Mode       : DIO
 SPI Flash Size & Map: 8Mbit(512KB+512KB)
jump to run user1 @ 1000

??o?s?n|??|rl?s?l?l?l`?s?dl?l`?r?l???ll`sl?rd???cd?cr|bp`lcls?dco?nn?lpl?l?????ll?o???bl?p???cl?cpslrl
Ai-Thinker Technology Co. Ltd.

ready
AT+CWMODE=1


OK
AT+CWLAP

+CWLAP:(3,"WLAN-E6A414",-81,"9c:80:df:e6:a4:c4",7,0,0)
+CWLAP:(3,"hurz",-57,"98:9b:cb:2e:00:ec",12,11,0)
+CWLAP:(3,"TEST",-55,"9a:9b:cb:2e:00:ec",12,11,0)

OK
AT+CIFSR

+CIFSR:STAIP,"0.0.0.0"
+CIFSR:STAMAC,"c8:c9:a3:64:ef:2b"

OK
AT+CWJAP_DEF="TEST","SOMEPASSWD"

WIFI CONNECTED
WIFI GOT IP

OK
AT+CWAUTOCONN=1


OK
AT+CIPSTATUS

STATUS:2

OK
AT+CIPDOMAIN="WWW.THEBACKSHED.COM"

+CIPDOMAIN:223.27.28.33

OK
AT+PING="WWW.THEBACKSHED.COM"

+timeout

ERROR
AT+PING="WWW.GOOGLE.COM"

+13

OK
AT+PING="WWW.THEBACKSHED.COM"

+timeout

ERROR


so, the www.thebackshed.com is not pingable  

sources:
https://www.espressif.com/sites/default/files/4a-esp8266_at_instruction_set_en_v1.5.4_0.pdf - the at commands

https://www.instructables.com/Using-the-ESP8266-module/ - inspiration for the terminal program

-andreas
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3655
Posted: 02:37pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Can't ping it from Linux either.

But
ping thebackshed.com

works.

John
 
toml_12953
Guru

Joined: 13/02/2015
Location: United States
Posts: 326
Posted: 06:14pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  andreas said  Hello,

I wanted to connect the Colour Maximite 2 to the internet.

My setup is an ESP8266 chip connected to ports 4,6,8,10 of the CMM2. Pin 8 & 10 are for TX/RX of com1: and pin 4 & 6 for VCC and GND. In between I put a dc-dc converter which generates 3.3 volts for the esp from the 5 volts comming from the cmm2. the TX/RX are connected cross over ("null modem") TX Cmm2 to RX ESP and vice versa. The ESP chip enable pin is sourced from the 3.3V comming from the buckboost converter.



That seems like a lot of work. Do you only have a 1st Gen CMM2? The 2nd Gen version has holes right on the main board to mount the ESP8266 (in my case a socket for it for easy replacement if necessary)
 
andreas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/12/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 187
Posted: 06:55pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  
That seems like a lot of work. Do you only have a 1st Gen CMM2? The 2nd Gen version has holes right on the main board to mount the ESP8266 (in my case a socket for it for easy replacement if necessary)


Yes I'm using a 1st generation CMM2 build in november/december 2020 - at that time I've got the CoreH743I, STM32 STM32H743IIT6 MCU core board for 29  

I was not aware of the ESP-01 wireless chip until I read in this forum about that. I started looking at amazon and found two parts - the chip itself and the "breadboard" adapter. When the chip arrives I had no information how to use it and looked for the handbook and sample code. the rest was a matter of two days.

Now I'm playing with an #include library of code to use internet connections within MMBASIC. This can start with simple things like setup wifi connections, terminal software etc. up to an mail client or even a lynx like browser.

-andreas
 
ville56
Regular Member

Joined: 08/06/2022
Location: Austria
Posts: 68
Posted: 08:26pm 25 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Andreas,

regarding your question "so, the www.thebackshed.com is not pingable":

If the ICMP echo request is disabled on the IP route or the server itself, you will get no response to pings. This is a decision usually taken by the server or network admin, depending on configuration and/or security requirements. It is not uncommon to block ICMP echo.

Regards,
Gerald
                                                                 
73 de OE1HGA, Gerald
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9060
Posted: 03:46am 26 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Gerald is spot-on.

MOST sites allow for ping, just to aid in proving they are alive and reachable on the net, but some sites do block the ping command.  Certainly not many, but TBS.COM must be one of those.

I can't ping it from here on W10 either.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3013
Posted: 12:02pm 26 Sep 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  C:>ping thebackshed.com

Pinging thebackshed.com [139.99.221.117] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 139.99.221.117: bytes=32 time=243ms TTL=46
Reply from 139.99.221.117: bytes=32 time=242ms TTL=46
Reply from 139.99.221.117: bytes=32 time=245ms TTL=46
Reply from 139.99.221.117: bytes=32 time=243ms TTL=46

Ping statistics for 139.99.221.117:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 242ms, Maximum = 245ms, Average = 243ms

C:\dl\picaxe>ping www.thebackshed.com

Pinging www.thebackshed.com [223.27.28.33] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 223.27.28.33:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

The non-pingable IP address goes to thebackshed.com if entered into the browser. The pingable one says "Forbidden".
Edited 2022-09-26 22:07 by lizby
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024