Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 08:29 29 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Bubble Universe Demo

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
Goksteroo
Senior Member

Joined: 15/03/2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 110
Posted: 01:27am 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I found this little bit of basic code on Discord (Bubbles Demo and converted it to MMBasic. The result on my PC with MMB4W is spectacular. The code should run in any version of MM Basic's hardware - just need to change the mode it is to run in.

mode 11 'change to suit your monitor/hardware and MMB version
cls rgb(black)
n=255
r=(2*pi)/235
x=0
'y=0
v=0
t=0
sz=200
s=0
scrw=mm.hres
scrh=mm.vres
sw=scrw/sz
sh=scrh/sz
offset=scrh/4.5
do
page write 1
   cls
   for i=50 to n
     for j=50 to n
      u=sin(i+v)+sin(r*i+x)
      v=cos(i+v)+cos(r*i+x)
      x=u+t
      pixel scrw/2+u*offset,scrh/2+v*offset,rgb(i,j,100)
   next j
   next i
   t=t+.025
page copy 1 to 0,B
loop

uTube Video (washed out colours!)
 
OA47

Guru

Joined: 11/04/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 875
Posted: 02:25am 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Like to check out the video but it is reporting it is private.

OA47
 
scruss
Regular Member

Joined: 20/09/2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 79
Posted: 02:51am 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Here's a video that is public for the BBC BASIC version to give you the idea: Bubble Universe
 
Goksteroo
Senior Member

Joined: 15/03/2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 110
Posted: 05:22am 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

OOps... public video now
 
Pluto
Guru

Joined: 09/06/2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 321
Posted: 06:18am 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Goksteroo! Nice.

By commenting out (removing) following lines in your program:
-mode 11 'change to suit your monitor/hardware and MMB version
-page write 1
and
-page copy 1 to 0,B

it works on PicoMite (cheaper black module with WS2812 LED on board). Not tested with the "standard" green RP2040 modules.

> option list
PicoMite MMBasic Version 5.07.05RC8
OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP18,GP19,GP16
OPTION FLASH SIZE 4194304
OPTION CPUSPEED (KHz) 378000
OPTION DISPLAY 50, 91
OPTION LCDPANEL ST7789_320, LANDSCAPE,GP17,GP20,GP21

Fred
 
Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 367
Posted: 09:35am 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Tested it on the PICO, impressive!
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3807
Posted: 10:13am 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Very pretty .

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3422
Posted: 01:37pm 15 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Amazing !

So few lines of code, such a beautiful result. This has similar magic as "mandelbrot" and "life". Too bad the pico cannot produce color in 640x480.

This would be what the researchers at CERN observe,,,

Volhout
Edited 2022-11-15 23:38 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Goksteroo
Senior Member

Joined: 15/03/2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 110
Posted: 05:57am 16 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Add this little bit of code to the above between the lines in bold:

t=t+.025
select case k
 case 128
   inc scrh,-4
 case 129
   inc scrh,4
 case 130
   inc scrw,-4
 case 131
   inc scrw,4
 case 65,97
   inc offset,4
 case 90,122
   inc offset,-4
end select
page copy 1 to 0,B

... to add zoom with [A] and [Z] and move display with the arrow keys.

note: no error checking!!
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3641
Posted: 08:31am 16 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Goksteroo said  Add this little bit of code to the above between the lines in bold:

t=t+.025
select case k
 ...
end select
page copy 1 to 0,B

... to add zoom with [A] and [Z] and move display with the arrow keys.

note: no error checking!!

Looks like k is never set. INKEY or some such?

John
 
Goksteroo
Senior Member

Joined: 15/03/2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 110
Posted: 09:35am 16 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yeh.... I'm blaming a bad copy and paste.... k=keydown(1) goes immediately before the above code.

As agent 86 would say..."Missed it by that much."
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1567
Posted: 01:32pm 20 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

works on picomite lcd
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hnGAgYMIv0
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Posted: 10:18am 21 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,
I've optimised this code for a LCD display, it now runs at approx 2Hz on a Pico running at 378MHz. I've reduced the number of plotted pixels, each pixel is drawn, then at the next iteration un_drawn, rather than doing a complete screen clear, I've also made them larger, to be more visible on a small screen, it's still managing to display about 1700 point per screen update.



Bubble video
Unfortunately it does make the code more unreadable. :-(
' Bubble Universe
Dim Float u,y,a,b,p,q,s,g,v=0, z=0, t=0, x=0
Dim Integer i,j,tt,c(41),d(41),e(41),f(41),l(41),m(41)
Const w=MM.HRes/2, h=MM.VRes/2, o=h/2, n=255
Const k=RGB(black), r=(2*Pi)/235
CLS RGB(black):Backlight 95
Math Add m(),3,m():t=Rnd*10':tt=t+3
Do
g=t:Inc t,0.025
For i=50 To n Step 5
b=0
For j=50 To n Step 5
 a=r*i:p=i+z:q=a+y
 u=Sin(p)+Sin(q):z=Cos(p)+Cos(q)
 y=u+g:f(b)=w+u*o:l(b)=h+z*o
 p=i+v:q=a+x
 u=Sin(p)+Sin(q):v=Cos(p)+Cos(q)
 x=u+t:c(b)=w+u*o:d(b)=h+v*o
 e(b)=RGB(i,j,130):Inc b,1
Next
Box f(),l(),m(),m(),0,,k
Box c(),d(),m(),m(),0,,e()
Next i
Loop ' Until t>tt

Edited 2022-11-21 20:29 by Bleep
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3422
Posted: 12:56pm 21 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Bleep,

Why are you calculating the f() and l() coordinates ? Could you copy them from c() and d() ? Using MATH ADD c(),0,f()

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Posted: 02:34pm 21 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Volhout,
You could, but you would then only get 41 pixels at any one time. Currently it calculates 41x41 (i&j) in the for loops, which then progressively update 41 pixels at a time. I did look at saving all the points in an array, but the array used to much memory, because all variables use 64bits only, I also looked at saving 2 or 4 smaller integers in each array element by masking & shifting, but even then the array was too big, though that was before I reduced the number of pixels displayed, so may now be possible, but may not gain a huge amount, because of the slowness of the serial data transfer to the display.
Regards Kevin.
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1567
Posted: 04:00pm 21 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I changed CLS RGB(black)'Backlight 95 and it runs continuously but the original looked nicer imho.
I commented the second cls in the do loop and version 1 runs continuously.
Edited 2022-11-22 02:31 by stanleyella
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Posted: 04:40pm 21 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Volhout,
Here you go, it is very fractionally faster, but still basically 2Hz update, however the two arrays use up 28kB of memory, in theory the update should be smoother as it now updates a pixel at a time.
' Bubble Universe
Dim Float u,a,p,q,t,v=0, x=0
Dim Integer b,i,j,c(1764),d(1764)
Const w=MM.HRes/2, h=MM.VRes/2
Const r=(2*Pi)/235, o=h/2
Backlight 95:CLS RGB(black)
t=Rnd*10
Do
Inc t,0.025:b=0
For i=50 To 255 Step 5
For j=50 To 255 Step 5
 Box c(b),d(b),3,3,0,,0
 a=r*i:p=i+v:q=a+x
 u=Sin(p)+Sin(q):v=Cos(p)+Cos(q)
 x=u+t:c(b)=w+u*o:d(b)=h+v*o
 Box c(b),d(b),3,3,0,,RGB(i,j,130):Inc b,1
Next
Next i
Loop
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8516
Posted: 05:11pm 21 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Doesn't this now assume that the "pixel" you are zeroing doesn't sit where a new pixel has been previously placed?

Here is my version 375mSec per update  @ 378MHz  

' Bubble Universe
Dim Float u,a,p,q,t,v=0, x=0
Dim Integer b,i,j,c(1764),d(1764),e(1764),f(1764),cc(1764),dd(1764)
Math set 3,e()
Const w=MM.HRes/2, h=MM.VRes/2
Const r=(2*Pi)/235, o=h/2
Backlight 95:CLS RGB(black)
t=Rnd*10
Timer =0
b=0
For i=50 To 255 Step 5
 For j=50 To 255 Step 5
   f(b)=RGB(i,j,130)
   Inc b
 Next j
Next i
Do
 Print Timer
 Timer =0
 Inc t,0.025:b=0
 For i=50 To 255 Step 5
   a=r*i
   For j=50 To 255 Step 5
     p=i+v:q=a+x
     u=Sin(p)+Sin(q):v=Cos(p)+Cos(q)
     x=u+t:cc(b)=u*o+w:dd(b)=v*o+h
     Inc b
   Next
 Next
 Box c(),d(),e(),e(),0,,0
 Box cc(),dd(),e(),e(),0,,f()
 Math scale  cc(),1,c()
 Math scale dd(),1,d()
Loop

Edited 2022-11-22 04:04 by matherp
 
stanleyella

Guru

Joined: 25/06/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1567
Posted: 06:19pm 21 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

ili version

cls rgb(black)
n=255:r=(2*pi)/235:x=0:v=0:t=0:sz=200:s=0:sw=scrw/sz:sh=scrh/sz:offset=scrh/4.5
scrw=320 'mm.hres
scrh=240 'mm.vres
do
  for i=50 to n
    for j=50 to n
     u=sin(i+v)+sin(r*i+x)
     v=cos(i+v)+cos(r*i+x)
     x=u+t
     pixel scrw/2+u*offset,scrh/2+v*offset,rgb(i,j,100)
    next j
  next i
  t=t+.025
loop

 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Posted: 06:26pm 21 Nov 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Smarty Pants ;-)
Yes there will be a small number that get overwritten, but hopefully this is minimal, I certainly don't notice it.
However I definitely missed the fact that 'a' was being calculated in the wrong place and the fact that the colours could be pre-calculated. :-(
The reason I was doing it incrementally was to stop the fact that the whole pattern disappears and is then re-drawn, each iteration, I wanted it to look more fluid.
I've modified mine, to include the moved 'a' calculation and pre-calculated the colours, so it's improved to 480mS, still not as good as yours, but over a 50mS improvement on my previous. Thanks :-) Any other tips?
Regards, Kevin.
Edited 2022-11-22 04:30 by Bleep
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024