Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:48 05 Feb 2023 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : New PicoMite firmware release V5.07.06

     Page 5 of 5    
Author Message
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5119
Posted: 02:13am 24 Jan 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

My units look the same as the one in your photo.
I tried a second one out of the same delivery but this time didn't solder the header pins in case there was an issue with my breadboard.

No change re maximum speed. It appears to be reliable at 200MHz but fails totally at 220MHz and above including 378MHz.

The WS2812 on my second board behaves correctly.

The one on my first board is interesting.
If you write RGB(0,0,0) it correctly goes off but ANY colour sent in the next command results in fully brightness either white or green. Subsequent writes are correct colour until the next black.

Jim

Edit: My 'good' pico boards use B1 chips while the new black boards use B2 chips.
I hope that is not the reason and newer chips are all limited!
Edited 2023-01-24 13:44 by TassyJim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2027
Posted: 06:20am 24 Jan 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This board uses a linear regulator for the rp2040. Maybe it cannot supply sufficient power to run the rp2040 at high speed.

Try powering the 3.3v from a genuine picomite 3.3v.

Volhout
If nothing goes right ... turn left
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6828
Posted: 07:46am 24 Jan 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

My boards are B2
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3327
Posted: 11:16am 24 Jan 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It should be able to handle the current. In theory. :) The linear regulator is rated for 300mA, the switcher for 350mA IIRC. The current drawn by the RP2040 is probably less than 100mA at max overclocking. The switcher has been measured at 43mA input at 5V/252MHz. Allowing for 85% efficiency, that would be about 77mA at 3V3 into the RP2040 if I've worked it out correctly.

This is a B2 too.

If I bitbang with 0 it goes off. If I then bitbang with Red I get a pale green at full brightness. If I then bitbang with Red again I get red. :)
Even more charming - If I keep sending zero it alternates between off and some colours - mostly the greens and blues. This problem seems to completely go away by reducing the CPU speed to 200MHz. Perhaps better not to push these boards. :)
Edited 2023-01-24 21:34 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2027
Posted: 02:03pm 24 Jan 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Who knows ? picomite VGA...

I remember there was a change in the sprite file format, so it could use color 0 as transparent, or use it as black. I wanted to use it as black (CMM1 format).

How do I choose this ? May have missed it in the manual.

Volhout

EDIT: found it in the CMM2 manual. The SPRITE WRITE defaults to "orientation=4" meaning it uses color 0 as transparent. When you use orientation=0 (append ",0", you get the same behaviour as the CMM1.
Edited 2023-01-25 01:11 by Volhout
If nothing goes right ... turn left
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2027
Posted: 07:41am 01 Feb 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Peter,

Thank you for the file system in the pico itself (the A: drive). I have used it a lot, and it simply works. Good job !!

Volhout
If nothing goes right ... turn left
 
     Page 5 of 5    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2023