Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 16:49 18 Jun 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PIC32 chips now back in stock....

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9137
Posted: 01:21am 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just a casual swing my Microchip Direct, shows that the DIL, SOIC and SSOP versions of the PIC32MX170 chips are shipping from the 14th.  

Not in HUGE numbers, so before a large business gets in there and buys them all up, if - like me - you have been waiting to get more chips, now would be the time to buy some.

DIL was never that hard to get, but the SOIC and SSOP flavours have been VERY hard to get up until now.  Microchip only seem to be offering the 50MHz version, but I can see why they would do that.  If you're gonna get any made at all, best to get the faster ones vs the slower ones.

As of today's date (11th July 2023), they show 1,765 of the DIL version, 1,200 of the TQFP44, 729 of the SOIC, and 927 of the SSOP.

"Get 'em while they're hot!"
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3696
Posted: 07:39am 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks for the update.

If you get new ones (date code 2023), carefully check them. Production may have been transferred to a different fab. Silicon may be different. Package material (the blach plastic the chip is bonded in) may have changed (REACH/RoHS3).
The MX series was quite accurate (RC oscillator) and robust for decoupling capacitors (type/value/how close to pins). That may have changed, as well as ADC performance.

Volhout
Edited 2023-07-11 17:41 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9137
Posted: 08:59am 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Not inclined to believe that, Volhout, unless you have more insight then the rest of us?
Can you provide data to back that up?

Microchip would SURELY use the same fab process as before all this COVID mess.
Using anything other then that, would HURT them professionally and financially if they did that if the chips then proved to be sub-standard, especially with people so desperate for chips.

Still, interested to hear your take on that one, as I respect your knowledge - which is why your post seems so strange to me......
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3696
Posted: 10:31am 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

No, I have no data to back that up.

But... would you have been informed when they changed fabs or process or materials ?

It generally does not happen during running production. But now they could have used the opportunity. Again, just caution. No data.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5848
Posted: 12:56pm 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Best bet is to get the latest data sheet from Microchip's site and check the updates list at the back of it.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
robert.rozee
Guru

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2302
Posted: 02:42pm 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

if microchip did move to a different fab and shrunk the die, that would perhaps open up the opportunity for the mythical dip-28 packaged PIC32MX190 to become a reality! 512k flash and 128k RAM.


cheers,
rob   :-)
Edited 2023-07-12 00:43 by robert.rozee
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5848
Posted: 02:59pm 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Dear Bretheren, let us pray....


:)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
hitsware2

Guru

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 708
Posted: 08:22pm 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  robert.rozee said  
dip-28 packaged PIC32MX190

Would anyone ( now days ) offer a
new device model in a dip package ?
my site
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5848
Posted: 09:50pm 11 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The PicoMite in a 40-DIL package?  :)

No, not that I know of.

I do like the RP2040-Zero from Waveshare if you want something smaller then the PicoMite though.
Edited 2023-07-12 07:51 by Mixtel90
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9137
Posted: 12:22am 12 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  It generally does not happen during running production. But now they could have used the opportunity. Again, just caution. No data.

Volhout


Very interesting point.  Had not thought of that.

@ Rob - Wishful thinking!    They are still the same part number, so I expect still exactly the same die design.  No extra memory for you!  

@ hitsware2 & Mixtel90 - I WAS toying with the idea of designing a RP2040 chip and all its associated bits, into a wide SOIC 28-pin footprint, but after playing about for a day or so in the CAD just to see if it were possible, I decided it wasn't when the WaveShare Zero module is only $5 each.  The standard Pico module is in the 40-pin DIL footprint, isn't it?  I might check, but I think it is.  Perhaps it is a little wider.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
hitsware2

Guru

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 708
Posted: 01:54am 12 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

>>>>>  dip-28 packaged PIC32MX190   <<<<<<<<<

I thought rob meant a dip chip .....
not a board w / chip ....
my site
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5848
Posted: 06:25am 12 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The only reasons I can think of offhand to use a 28-pin chip now are:
. You are doing a production run and you really do only want the chip and a capacitor.
. You need more ADC inputs.
. You need the extra security of having on-chip flash.

I'm not sure that the 28-pin PIC32MX190 family is all that cost effective now. It was never a cheap chip.

PCB area isn't necessarily any better. You always have to add a decoupling cap (2, really) and an ICSP header (or space for one) anyway. Even worse if you need a regulator from 5V, an external oscillator rather than the internal RC one or a USB connection.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9137
Posted: 07:46am 12 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Funny you should say that Mick.
MOST of my designs, I have now ported to use the Waveshare Zero module, which as a complete module, is about the same price as the Microchip chips just by themselves.

I can hear you all saying that relying on WS being able to supply the module is a bad idea, but then....so was COVID which resulted in total loss of the official authentic chips from Microchip also.

Half a dozen of one, six of the other.
Roll the dice, and take your chances.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
robert.rozee
Guru

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2302
Posted: 05:33am 13 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  The only reasons I can think of offhand to use a 28-pin chip now are:
. You are doing a production run and you really do only want the chip and a capacitor.
. You need more ADC inputs.
. You need the extra security of having on-chip flash.

I'm not sure that the 28-pin PIC32MX1n0 family is all that cost effective now. It was never a cheap chip.


the MX170 is electrically much quieter than a pico module, has the ability to run at much lower current when slowed down, and can enter a low-power sleep mode that draws next to nothing.

furthermore, as i recall, the MX170 had - pre-shortages - a similar price tag to what a pico module costs today; about nz$7.

so there are applications suited to a pico, and applications suited to an MX170.


cheers,
rob   :-)
 
Quazee137

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 532
Posted: 06:17am 13 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Before the shortage I was getting them for $3.75. Yes I was buying in lots of
 a hundred some time just a hundred other times a few hundred.

 I was fitting the 28 pin DIL, 4 optocouplers, 2 relays, I2C Display, 12VDC to 5VDC
 power along with 1117-3.3V reg and 4 caps 8 resistors in a DIN-RAL case.

 I can't do that with a standard 40pin Pico.
 Playing with waveshare RP2040 Zero like Grogster is.

 Quazee137


 Side note the code for the PIC32MX170 is solid years of running in the field.

 The PIC ADC is quiet and good range where the Pico is not.
Edited 2023-07-13 16:22 by Quazee137
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5848
Posted: 07:10am 13 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Oh, the Pico has it's drawbacks and it's certainly not a replacement for the PIC32MX170, but if you are looking for a through-hole MMBasic device there's not a lot out there. The RP2040-Zero is about the closest there is.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3696
Posted: 07:18am 13 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The Pico has one advantage:

MMBasic 5.07.08 has so many more features compared to MX170.
Whether you need them for your application is the question.
Many applications are essentially not more than controlled sequencers.
So basic analog in, relays, opto's, leds, keys.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3683
Posted: 10:32am 13 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The PIC32MX has lots of great I/O & power-saving features so maybe Microchip will extend it by adding RAM & flash - we can but hope.

(But the idea of a user adding SPI flash etc looks optimistic to say the least.)

John
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5848
Posted: 10:37am 13 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

*If* Microchip were to extend it then it probably wouldn't be in a DIL package now. Almost all the demand for microcontrollers is for surface mount.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3696
Posted: 02:02pm 13 Jul 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yip,

Microchip seems the only company still producing relatively powerfull DIP microcontrollers. The PIC32MX170 (50 DMIPS) and the PIC24 (up to 70 DMIPS) series.

The end of an era...

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024