Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 20:54 21 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PICO PETSCII

     Page 1 of 38    
Author Message
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3498
Posted: 11:48am 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

All,

Have spend 1 evening in toying around with my idea's about a basic implementation of PETSCII ROBOTS on the picomite VGA. This is VERY inmature. Just a scrolling landscape dynamically created from a world map.

No animations yet (opening doors, AI robots), just a player walking the map.
Some tiles (sprites) are based on commodore PET artwork, some are plain trials using color (with mixed success...pink...auch!!).



I will update the status in this thread.
 
Volhout

P.S. the "player" is pasted in since SAVE IMAGE will save the active layer only. And player and world map are in different layers.

P.P.S. Thanks to Martin.H who's sprite editor (SPRED version 102) is very usefull.
Edited 2023-09-14 21:51 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 891
Posted: 12:25pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That looks promising.   I'm excited to see how it plays
'no comment
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3836
Posted: 12:53pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That is good progress.

Whilst (as discussed elsewhere) I can't commit to collaboration I am very enthused about this project so please reach-out if there are stumbling blocks. If you can get it running but the performance isn't up to snuff then I think it worth sacrificing BASIC purity with some targeted CSUBs.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8572
Posted: 12:54pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Harm

Please try the attached


PicoMiteVGA.zip

It is completely untested but "should" merge the layer with the background when you SAVE IMAGE

IFF
1./ You are currently writing to the main display (FRAMEBUFFER WRITE N)
2./ the layer is previously set up (FRAMEBUFFER LAYER)
Edited 2023-09-14 22:59 by matherp
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 891
Posted: 01:10pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nice look  
but, if you are allready use Sprites, how abut using them in Color ..
Like a mix between the C128 and the Amiga Version.?
You can find the Amiga source (As an inspiration for your own sprites)
on GitHub
'no comment
 
Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 372
Posted: 01:10pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

WOW I am really impressed and curios, it looks great!

Greetings
Daniel
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3498
Posted: 01:13pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@peter,

SAVE IMAGE "file.bmp" still gives the active layer only
I am on FRAMEBUFFER WRITE N
I have FRAMEBUFFER LAYER

also tried:
SAVE IMAGE IFF "file.bmp" gives "expected a string" error

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3498
Posted: 01:16pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Martin H. said  Nice look  
but, if you are allready use Sprites, how abut using them in Color ..
Like a mix between the C128 and the Amiga Version.?
You can find the Amiga source (As an inspiration for your own sprites)
on GitHub


Hi Martin,

I have taken the short route to getting some tiles. Create them myself from the youtube video on PETSCII ROBOTS part 1 and your character set.
When the game is funrther ahead, me, or you, or any volunteer can create a marvelous tiles set....

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8572
Posted: 01:16pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

One more try


PicoMiteVGA.zip
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3498
Posted: 01:32pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  One more try
PicoMiteVGA.zip


YES, that does it.

Thanks !
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 891
Posted: 01:41pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  
Hi Martin,

I have taken the short route to getting some tiles. Create them myself from the youtube video on PETSCII ROBOTS part 1 and your character set.
When the game is funrther ahead, me, or you, or any volunteer can create a marvelous tiles set....

Volhout



The Tiles on Amiga



and here, how the Tiles could look in the 16 Pico Colors...


not so ugly at all  
Edited 2023-09-14 23:42 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3498
Posted: 01:45pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The pico has memory for roughly half the tiles the amiga has.
But we may not need to since robots and player (and maybe explosions) are on a different layer. So I do not need a player on tarmac, a player on carpet, a player on grass etc...

Layer "F" (the framebuffer) can hold 130 tiles (24x24).

Volhout
Edited 2023-09-14 23:47 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 891
Posted: 02:01pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  The pico has memory for roughly half the tiles the amiga has.
But we may not need to since robots and player (and maybe explosions) are on a different layer. So I do not need a player on tarmac, a player on carpet, a player on grass etc...

Layer "F" (the framebuffer) can hold 130 tiles (24x24).

Volhout

Using the F layer cost you another 36k of Memory
Maybe better buffer the Tiles on A: as it is much faster than the SD Card B:.
If you now map the score and health display to a 64x240 area on the edge only on the layer, you can temporarily save 14 tiles you need on the N screen below without them becoming visible.


--edit--
You can also consider halving the resolution and reducing the size of the tiles from 32x32 to 16x16 the Space under the Layer would last for 60 Tiles


:-)
Edited 2023-09-15 00:17 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3498
Posted: 02:30pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Martin,

I though about using the area under the score and health display. That could hold 20 tiles when it is larger than 48 x 240 (tiles are 24x24). And this area is for free.

So..

When the game has
0...20 tiles all could find a place on N hiden behind the score and health on L
21...84 tiles, you could use SPRITES (up to 64 sprites) + tiles on layer N.
       This option uses 64k (each tile as a sprite consumes 1k).
85 tiles and more ... either load dynamically from A:

or

use Framebuffer F as storage. It will hold 13x10=130 tiles in 38k. That is pretty good actually. Together with N that would be 150 tiles. Maybe the tiles on layer N can be used for the "overlay" on L, and the F for the world map tiles on N.

I like the framebuffer F use since it is simple. You provide a 38k BMP file, load that in 1 line of code, and have all the graphics you need for the tiles.
The L layer could also be a 38k BMP you load (same as MAXITREK) with nice PETSCII graphics from the 8bit guy's artwork, with just a window that shows the scrolling world map..

All thoughts...

Volhout
Edited 2023-09-15 00:34 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8572
Posted: 02:32pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The tiles could be stored in program space as a pseudo CSUB and memory copied to the display. If the CSUB is in the library the memory usage is minimal

MODE 2
a%=Peek(cfunaddr test)
b%=MM.Info(writebuff)
x%=10 'x coordinate for blit in 24x24 tiles
y%=8 'y coordinate for blit in 24x24 tiles
Box x% * 24 - 1, y% * 24 - 1 , 26 , 26 'create a box to test the blit
y% = y% * 24 * MM.HRes \ 2 'scale the y coordinate by the number of bytes in a line
x% = x% * 12 'scale the x coordinate by the number of bytes into the line
Timer =0
For yy% = 0 To 23 'loop though the lines of the tile
  Memory copy a% + yy% * 12, b% + yy% * MM.HRes \ 2 + y% + x%, 12
Next
Print Timer
CSub test '24x24 sprite (should be saved in the library)
00000000
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
End CSub

Edited 2023-09-15 00:40 by matherp
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3498
Posted: 02:39pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nice idea,

Above sprite would be 288 bytes.
16k library would hold 55 sprites.
It is an option to keep in mind.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8572
Posted: 02:42pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It's also fast. 1mSec at 378MHz and that is without any optimisation. The library on the PicoMite takes a full program slot and doesn't impact the rest of the program so there is basically no realistic limit on number of sprites

Here is an optimised version

MODE 2
a%=Peek(cfunaddr test)
b%=MM.Info(writebuff)
x%=10 'x coordinate for blit in 24x24 tiles
y%=8 'y coordinate for blit in 24x24 tiles
Box x%*24-1,y%*24-1,26,26
y%=y%*24*MM.HRes\2
x%=x%*12
w%=MM.HRes\2
Timer =0
Inc b%, x%+y%
For yy%=0 To 23
  Memory copy a%, b%,12
  Inc b%,w%
  Inc a%,12
Next
Print Timer

Edited 2023-09-15 00:49 by matherp
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8572
Posted: 03:11pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Final contribution a subroutine that can plot any sprite in any tile

MODE 2
Do
plot Rnd*3,Rnd*14,Rnd*10
Loop
'
Sub plot(s%, xin%, yin%)
 Static w%=MM.HRes\2
 Static c%=Peek(cfunaddr test)
 Local y%=yin% * 24 * w%
 Local x%=xin%*12
 Local b%=MM.Info(writebuff)+x%+y%
 Local a%=c%+s%*288
 For yy%=0 To 23
   Memory copy a%, b%,12
   Inc b%,w%
   Inc a%,12
 Next
End Sub
'
CSub test '24x24 sprite (should be saved in the library)
00000000
'sprite 0
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
22222222 66666666 88888888
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
'sprite 1
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
FFFFFFFF 88888888 44444444
'sprite 2
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
CCCCCCCC FFFFFFFF 55555555
End CSub
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 891
Posted: 03:29pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

On the Amiga, the Playfeeld is just 266x168  (AmigaScreen is 320x200)
So, I repainted the Mask for the Layer and reduced the Tilesize to 24x24
PicoTiles.zip
Edited 2023-09-15 01:33 by Martin H.
'no comment
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 891
Posted: 03:44pm 14 Sep 2023
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  Final contribution a subroutine that can plot any sprite in any tile

wow, that's great      
'no comment
 
     Page 1 of 38    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024