Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 16:12 27 Jul 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MMBasic: Knightmare Game

     Page 9 of 9    
Author Message
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 470
Posted: 04:17pm 21 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I released the stage 6 gameplay video.

https://youtu.be/TD_DWqn7wSA

 
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 470
Posted: 02:55am 22 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

We will have an intro and a menu screen soon!


 
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 470
Posted: 10:58pm 27 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello everyone

I completed the game intro and main menu implementation. The next steps are to implement stages 07 and 8.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xB08OaIKxmU
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3811
Posted: 07:49am 28 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nice, even without level 7 and 8 it is a complete game now.
Excellent work Leonas.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 470
Posted: 02:25am 07 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Stage 7 is coming

 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3927
Posted: 05:50pm 16 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@LeoNicolas,

Is the code here https://github.com/leonicolas/knightmare-cmm2 out of date ?

I ask because if I look at init_menu() it makes a series of calls to print_centralized() which will ultimately blit the text glyphs to PAGE 1 ...

... but I can't find any code that then copies PAGE 1 to PAGE 0 so (at least in MMB4L) that text will never be displayed.

Doesn't seem to work as it currently is on either MMB4W or MMB4L ???

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2024-07-17 03:57 by thwill
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
vegipete

Guru

Joined: 29/01/2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1091
Posted: 10:28pm 16 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

At the start of "init.inc", Leo uses "mode 3,12". Page 1 sits on top of page 0, no?
Visit Vegipete's *Mite Library for cool programs.
 
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 470
Posted: 04:49am 17 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes, I use mode 3,12 and both pages (0 and 1) for background and text. It works on MMB4W. I haven't tried on the real CMM2 or the Pico yet.

Yes, the source code is up to date in the repo.

I needed to stop the development for a couple of months. I'm near to complete the level 7 development. I'm planing to come back to the game at the end of August. Unfortunately some life problems are holding me now

Thank you for reviving this thread
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3927
Posted: 11:23am 17 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  LeoNicolas said  Yes, I use mode 3,12 and both pages (0 and 1) for background and text.


Thank you, I was unaware of this "wrinkle" and had just commented out the ", 12" whilst I was getting other things working.

  LeoNicolas said  I haven't tried on the real ... Pico yet.


If a version on the PicoMiteVGA is possible (maybe even the Game*Mite) then your display model will require considerable rework as they don't have the same PAGE model as the CMM2/MMB4W being restricted to the display (N) a frame buffer (F) and a layer (L).

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8682
Posted: 11:44am 17 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Tom

See the chapter on "12-bit mode graphics" in the document "Graphics Programming on the CMM2-v3d.pdf" included in the CMM2 firmware download zip for info on 12-bit mode. The layer buffer on the PicoMiteVGA is an attempt in software to mimic what the CMM2 does using the capabilities of the STM32H7 H/W
Edited 2024-07-17 21:44 by matherp
 
LeoNicolas

Guru

Joined: 07/10/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 470
Posted: 12:18pm 17 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If necessary I can combine both layers in one framebuffer and blit it to the screen
Edited 2024-07-17 22:55 by LeoNicolas
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3927
Posted: 08:50am 18 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  See the chapter on "12-bit mode graphics" in the document "Graphics Programming on the CMM2-v3d.pdf" included in the CMM2 firmware download zip for info on 12-bit mode. The layer buffer on the PicoMiteVGA is an attempt in software to mimic what the CMM2 does using the capabilities of the STM32H7 H/W


Thank you Peter, I've managed to implement a semblance of that, though (if I can be bothered - which may depend on whether semi-transparent is a feature actually in use) I may have to mess with the transparency as currently for simplicity I have 256 alpha levels rather than the 16 used by the CMM2 in this mode.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3927
Posted: 10:51am 19 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi @LeoNicolas,

The file "music.inc" includes a number of calls to PLAY MODFILE with an interrupt set at line 16000 ... except there is no line/label 16000 ?

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8682
Posted: 11:21am 19 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It isn't an interrupt, it is the modfile playback sample rate
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3927
Posted: 11:25am 19 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  It isn't an interrupt, it is the modfile playback sample rate


... thank you. Thus identifying another missing feature in MMB4L and also explaining a later error about mismatched sample rates that occurred with MMB4W after I commented it out.

D'Oh!

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
Martin H.

Guru

Joined: 04/06/2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 991
Posted: 11:54am 19 Jul 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  thwill said  
If a version on the PicoMiteVGA is possible (maybe even the Game*Mite) then your display model will require considerable rework as they don't have the same PAGE model as the CMM2/MMB4W being restricted to the display (N) a frame buffer (F) and a layer (L).

Best wishes,

Tom

You must also bear in mind that the Picomite has less memory than the CMM2, the use of FrameBuffer(F) AND Layer(L) is very memory-intensive.
Cheers
Martin
'no comment
 
     Page 9 of 9    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024