![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS release candidates
![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4527 |
Thanks Tom, I forgot to mention that. And if you play it as a shooter, you get disappointed. You search for weapons, and use these (but also furniture, plants, boxes, fences etc..) to find an effective way to kill your ennemies the robots. Also very helpful is the PETSCII ROBOTS user manual. Look here for the multitude of platforms. The PicoMite version resmbles the MS-DS version closest in operation and keyboard layout. So that user manual may be the best fit (it is included in the ZIP for MS-DOS). PETSCII ROBOTS SHAREWARE Volhout Edited 2025-01-24 22:21 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Frank N. Furter Guru ![]() Joined: 28/05/2012 Location: GermanyPosts: 902 |
@thwill + @Volhout: Many thanks to you both! ![]() Frank |
||||
thwill![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4136 |
Hi @Volhout, I've just observed that the music-toggle is incorrectly implemented, see lines 259-266 of robots602.bas: Case "toggle-music" k$="" ' Do we need this ? Play stop:music=1-music If music Then select_music(3) 'only sfx Else select_music(map_nr mod 3) 'any of 3 songs EndIf So initially the music is playing and music=1 (line 116). Then the player presses M to "toggle-music", this will set music=0 which will keep the music playing because the clauses of the IF statement are swapped. Best wishes, Tom MMBasic for Linux, Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4527 |
Thanks, will fix (probably update 602 on my G-drive) since the impact is marginal. A second toggle will give the desired effect. The magnet issue you mentioned earlier is far more important. That was a real bug with game impact. I also noticed the music-off only works at console, not at PS2 keyboard, not game*mite. Volhout Edited 2025-01-27 18:43 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
thwill![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4136 |
For the PS2 keyboard you need an additional mapping to catch the shift keys, see what I've done for the MMB4L version: https://github.com/thwill1000/mmbasic-robots/blob/main/robots.bas line 2162 onwards. And for the Game*Mite there simply aren't enough buttons, you'd need to look at something like A + B bringing up a menu containing both "Toggle music" and "Quit". Best wishes, Tom MMBasic for Linux, Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4527 |
Hi Tom, Thanks, added to robots603 for VGA, together with some cosmetic fixes. I have not added a menu to GM yet. On GM you can simply turn the volume down. And I am short on program space (I already removed ATARI joystick). Maybe I need to make a drastic move and start crunching... Thanks anyway for the suggestion.... Volhout Edited 2025-01-28 05:01 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
homa![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/11/2021 Location: GermanyPosts: 401 |
@tom I have tried the version from github on a PicoMiteHDMI USB 2350 V6.00.01: > run [14] #Include "./splib/system.inc" Error : Invalid character: # NOTE: This repository is specifically for maintaining a version compatible with MMBasic for Linux (MMB4L). Though in theory it should also run on PicoMiteVGA and Game*Mite platforms too; if it doesn't then give me a poke. This one works: Matthias Edited 2025-01-28 05:46 by homa |
||||
thwill![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4136 |
@homa I never thought anyone would try. That's not a PicoMiteVGA or a Game*Mite but I'm still interested in exploring what happens if you've got time to test; I don't have that hardware myself. Try running using the command: CMM2 RUN "robots.bas" Best wishes, Tom Edited 2025-01-28 06:05 by thwill MMBasic for Linux, Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
homa![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/11/2021 Location: GermanyPosts: 401 |
I didn't even know this command. I went back to the study to test it ![]() [1953] Select Case MM. Info(PS2) Error: Syntax > Footnote added 2025-01-28 17:53 by homa Looked it up in the manual this morning: ![]() Your learning never stops! |
||||
thwill![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 16/09/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 4136 |
Thanks @homa, That's happening because by default the version of the code on GitHub uses MM.INFO(PS2) to read the keyboard, there is a flag USE_PS2 that you can flip so it uses INKEY$ instead which would allow it to get further. Anyway I'm looking into "fixing" it so that the claim in my PETSCII Robots README.md of PicoMiteVGA/Game*Mite compatibility is more reality than aspirational ![]() I also want to fix the USB keyboard support (use KEYDOWN) ... and add USB gamepad support ... and add simulation of the PicoMiteVGAUSB to MMB4L ... no rest for the virtuous ![]() Best wishes, Tom Edited 2025-01-29 22:35 by thwill MMBasic for Linux, Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures |
||||
PilotPirx![]() Regular Member ![]() Joined: 03/11/2020 Location: GermanyPosts: 80 |
I`m a little bit puzzled (as always). Does a version for the actual CMM2 exist? It would be great! ![]() |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4527 |
Hi PilotPirx, AFAIK Peter has once made a port of PETSCII ROBOTS that runs on the CMM2. I'll see if I can find a link to it. It was based on version 25 or 24, not the latest. Since I did not have a CMM2 at that time, I have never tried it. link Volhout Edited 2025-02-01 00:15 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
Amnesie Guru ![]() Joined: 30/06/2020 Location: GermanyPosts: 430 |
Hi Volhout, I wanted to try your latest version (for picoMiteVGA) robots2.bas but getting Error: [1759] Play modfile path$("music/get_psyched-sfx.mod") 'sdx combined with music Error: File too large for modbuffer I am using latest PicoMiteVGA version: RP2350A Edition V6.00.02b6 With OPTION MODBUFF ENABLE Any ideas? Greetings Daniel |
||||
Volhout Guru ![]() Joined: 05/03/2018 Location: NetherlandsPosts: 4527 |
Hi Daniel Option modbuff enable 192 If you do not add the 192, it enables default size which is 128, and that is too small. For pettscii the minimum size is 180, but general everyone uses 192 now. Volhout Edited 2025-02-03 16:09 by Volhout PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS |
||||
![]() ![]() |
![]() |