Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 05:36 22 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : DIN Rail Case

Author Message
Malibu
Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 162
Posted: 05:07am 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I just had an e-mail land in my inbox from Pi Australia that might interest a few out there... A DIN Rail mounted ABS case that the blurb says is for a RPi5, although I'm pretty sure it will be great for anyone aiming for an industry 'standard' enclosure for a project...

Raspberry Pi DIN Rail Case

It tweaked my interest, thought it might be useful for others as well  

John
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5775
Posted: 07:27am 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That's neat.
You might get the Pineapple Pi-Mite or the Raspberry Pi-coMite into it with help from a Dremel. Those are both VGA though. It would be neater to make a custom arrangement with some sort of IO board mounted, having an IO socket of some type. Maybe a RJ45 used as a RS485 link to an IO system? There's not a lot of call for VGA and audio from a DIN module.
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3595
Posted: 07:34am 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,

The Pi5 does not look to be a great industrial controller. Especially it's interfaces are far from robust (micro HDMI....?). But it is a nice way of mounting. Illustrative however is that the housing has no front plate. That is where I suppose the FAN must come to cool this baby in an industrial environment.

Regards,

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5775
Posted: 07:49am 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

TBH I'd rather run something lower power than a Pi5 in an industrial environment wherever possible. The temperature rise in closed boxes won't help a chip that runs hot. I can envisage that case with plug-in terminals at top and bottom of the board and a RJ45 poking up in the middle though. :)
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
Malibu
Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 162
Posted: 09:42am 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Agreed, I wouldn't use an RPi5... especially as an industrial control device.
The post was more for the interesting and I see pretty handy 'box' that would be easy to fit another type of board (Pico's maybe?) that can easily be mounted using the DIN rail system.
A front plate is a minor addition that can easily hold PB's, LED's customised to any ideas that you could have  
You and I have the same view, Mick... screw terminals top and bottom, or maybe plug-ins... With the right code loaded, it'd make a great little PLC for simple tasks.

John
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3595
Posted: 09:57am 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Malibu,

Look here:
MMbasic PLC based on PicoMite



Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Quazee137

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 529
Posted: 10:24am 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have used the 170 based mites in a lots of industrial units. Most for
  some form of water treatment. Three of the main projects used DIN RAIL
  enclosures. Made them easy to deploy as they where using other DIN RAIL
  devices.

I was playing with idea moving the design to the RP2040. But now the 170's
are back and do fit the jobs better. Maybe a RP2040 based PLC with I2C ADC
for PH, Conductivity & Temperature making use of the RP2040 ADC's for 4-20mA.

I have a few of Grogster's LVT replacing front end controllers for sites with
four or more watertowers. I use the 232module to receive/send data packets to
the office and the COM2 talks with my 170's handling blowdown valves and
feed water along with bio-chem pumps.

Having the video and audio outputs made them more or less self teaching setting
up and using. Where the units they replaced needed rep to walk them through it.

Quazee137

Feeling a bit better. Getting use to the new pains. See Dr again in a week.
Who knew failing 24" could do so much damage.
Edited 2024-04-18 20:51 by Quazee137
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 334
Posted: 11:03am 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quazee137 said   Maybe a RP2040 based PLC with I2C ADC
for PH, Conductivity & Temperature making use of the RP2040 ADC's for 4-20mA.


MMBasic is the ultimate PLC language. I'm achieving things that were beyond my wildest dreams.
The PLC world is a total joke....$18,000 just for the programming software, in some cases(!!!!)


  Quote  
Feeling a bit better. Getting use to the new pains. See Dr again in a week.
Who knew failing 24" could do so much damage.


That totally sucks

I recently had only minor pain in my thumb-joints and man, I was whining like a little b*tch. No-way I could get used to it. Thought it was age related but it disappeared so I hope you make a full recovery  
 
PeteCotton

Guru

Joined: 13/08/2020
Location: Canada
Posts: 317
Posted: 07:02pm 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  PhenixRising said  The PLC world is a total joke....$18,000 just for the programming software, in some cases(!!!!)


Messrs Allen and Bradley I would assume. Total pisstake. Not to mention the required paid updates if you want to use their next processor.

Bentley Nevada wasn't much better. We ordered about $30K worth of vibration monitoring equipment from them and it didn't come with any manuals. The manuals were extra $$$$.
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 334
Posted: 07:54pm 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

So this is an example from those who turn their noses up at we and our "toy language":

Pretty obvious that the text-file is missing its CRs and LFs, right?





"Doesn't look right because nobody puts coils in series"

"Looks like it might've been AI generated"

Give me strength  
 
DaveJacko
Regular Member

Joined: 25/07/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 54
Posted: 09:14pm 18 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I found this to be a useful and sensibly-priced enclosure.

Known as D4MG Din rail enclosure, MC001143 from Farnell
similar is CNMB/4  or  CNMB/4/KIT from Rapidonline mfr CamdenBoss

This has a PIC16f1825 in it, but a PicoMite zero would have done the job better.
Just a piece of stripboard and some pcb mount screw terminals. Voila, a PLC!
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3595
Posted: 07:24am 19 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

EDIT: deleted...

It looks AI generated at second view.

Volhout
Edited 2024-04-19 17:29 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
Dinosaur

Guru

Joined: 12/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 304
Posted: 07:41pm 19 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi All

Whilst on the subject of cases, have a look at my "Rapberri Pi Zero Tablet"
Core Electronics Forum
Pictures lower down in posts.

Regards
Regards
Hervey Bay Qld.
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024