Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 06:31 22 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Penrose Tiling Program for CMM2

Author Message
William Leue
Guru

Joined: 03/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 387
Posted: 10:54pm 20 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I wrote this some time ago but it needed cleaning up, which I finally got done.



You can generate Penrose P2 tilings starting from any of the 7 unique vertices, and choose a tile size and color scheme.

Enjoy!
-Bill


Penrose.zip
 
Malibu
Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 162
Posted: 04:57am 21 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nicely done, and Roger Penrose is one smart cookie...
Here's a good video on the tiles
Veritasium - Penrose Tiles

John
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3595
Posted: 01:34pm 22 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Bill,

Did you try to run this at MMB4W, or only on CMM2 ?
It does not work immediatly on MMB4W , I may have to debug...

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5923
Posted: 10:49pm 22 Apr 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

For MMB4W the main problem is detecting ENTER

In MMB4W the enter key returns LF not CR although that might vary from PC to PC.
To make it run, I added const LINEFEED = 10
and CASE ENTER, LINEFEED to the startscreen sub.
There are a few font sizes and MODE choices to make but with that one change, it does run on MMB4W

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
William Leue
Guru

Joined: 03/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 387
Posted: 09:03pm 01 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks, Jim!  I do my best to make sure my programs run correctly on the CMM2. I do not test for running on any other hardware, sorry. I don't own the hardware to test it on, and I don't really have the time.

However, I am always glad when somebody takes up the porting job. I try to make my code easy to port  with liberal use of constants, comments, and in general good structuring.

-Bill
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024