Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 09:01 11 May 2025 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Eureka

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 02:01pm 21 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post



Transpires there is a bug in the sdk that resets the PSRAM timings when you write to flash. I've put in some code to restore them after flash writes and now the Pimoroni Plus can run at 372 or 378MHz allowing widescreen HDMI. Also tested on PGA2350
Edited 2024-12-22 00:16 by matherp
 
javavi

Guru

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 436
Posted: 02:21pm 21 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This is another small step towards the widespread use of PSRAM on PicoMite
 
javavi

Guru

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 436
Posted: 02:38pm 21 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Wouldn't it be nice to write some kind of stress test to check the used memory of PSRAM?

I did a simple test of the speed of copying one 1kB template array to arrays occupying the rest of the space, and this test paradoxically showed the same speed on both PicoMite without PSRAM and with it.
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3310
Posted: 06:36pm 21 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Exactly which PCB is this?
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
javavi

Guru

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 436
Posted: 12:57am 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  lizby said  Exactly which PCB is this?

For example, in my experiments with PSRAM I use a Chinese clone of Pico2 called RP2350-Plus to which I soldered the PSRAM chip on top of the flash memory chip.
To select the PSRAM chip, one port of Pico2 is used, in my case it is GP8.


Edited 2024-12-22 11:03 by javavi
 
javavi

Guru

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 436
Posted: 10:40am 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@matherp
Regarding the PSRAM with PicoMite RP2350,
I would also like to understand how this extended RAM memory is distributed in the PicoMite memory system, as well as how and where the built-in SRAM memory of the RP2350 chip is used when the PSRAM is connected?
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 10:48am 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

PSRAM is allocated to the MMBasic heap used for arrays, strings etc. built-in RAM is used preferentially until full unless the request is too big in which case PSRAM is used
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1142
Posted: 12:26pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I love those eureka moments    
 
dddns
Senior Member

Joined: 20/09/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 261
Posted: 12:32pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I would like to use a Pimoroni PGA2350 as a base.
Is it (fully) supported by Picomite? Good idea?
 
javavi

Guru

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 436
Posted: 12:58pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

My testing of memory block array write/read/copy speeds showed little difference in speed between the built-in SRAM and external PSRAM memory.
Tested with different block sizes from 1KB to 32KB.

MEM BLOCK:  1k         2k         16k
-------------------------------------------
SRAM WR - 1.81 mS    3.55 mS    28.10 mS
SRAM RD - 1.80 mS    3.53 mS    27.90 mS
SRAM CP - 2.61 mS    5.17 mS    40.91 mS
-------------------------------------------
PSRAM WR - 1.99 mS    3.85 mS    30.30 mS
PSRAM RD - 1.96 mS    3.81 mS    29.40 mS
PSRAM CP - 2.75 ms    5.40 mS    43.83 mS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 01:29pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

More info - not good though

It now appears that the tuning of the timing is probably dependent on the specific RAM chip used. I'm tuning based on the ram used by Pimoroni but it may not suit other RAM variants. I can just get the 372MHz required for 1280P HDMI video but can't reliably get 378MHz. Sometimes it boots and sometimes it doesn't so I'm limiting the clock speed to 372MHz for standard PicoMite and 315000 for PicoMiteVGA


  Quote  I would like to use a Pimoroni PGA2350 as a base.
Is it (fully) supported by Picomite? Good idea?


The question doesn't really mean anything. Currently there is no official PicoMite release for the RP2350 but there will be very soon. What versions are you intending to use and for what? Are you aware that you can't buy RP2350 chips - only built modules?
 
javavi

Guru

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 436
Posted: 03:34pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  More info - not good though
It now appears that the tuning of the timing is probably dependent on the specific RAM chip used.

What PSRAM memory chip do you use?
I have this ESP-PSRAM64H 133MHz 3.3V
I can check your firmware version for myself!
 
PhenixRising
Guru

Joined: 07/11/2023
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1142
Posted: 05:05pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  
  Quote  I would like to use a Pimoroni PGA2350 as a base.
Is it (fully) supported by Picomite? Good idea?


The question doesn't really mean anything. Currently there is no official PicoMite release for the RP2350 but there will be very soon. What versions are you intending to use and for what? Are you aware that you can't buy RP2350 chips - only built modules?


This one. I'll test mine tomorrow
Edited 2024-12-23 03:06 by PhenixRising
 
dddns
Senior Member

Joined: 20/09/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 261
Posted: 05:50pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  PhenixRising said  
  matherp said  
  Quote  I would like to use a Pimoroni PGA2350 as a base.
Is it (fully) supported by Picomite? Good idea?


The question doesn't really mean anything. Currently there is no official PicoMite release for the RP2350 but there will be very soon. What versions are you intending to use and for what? Are you aware that you can't buy RP2350 chips - only built modules?


This one. I'll test mine tomorrow


yes, exactly this one as it has all pins lined out even the bootsel.

My question was more or less, if it runs stable.
Now I have seen in older discussions, that it not possible to overclock it to values required for VGA or HDMI..Can anyone confirm?
 
dddns
Senior Member

Joined: 20/09/2024
Location: Germany
Posts: 261
Posted: 06:05pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Javavi
The board that carries the RP2350 looks nice. What is this..got a link?
 
javavi

Guru

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 436
Posted: 06:30pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  dddns said  @Javavi
The board that carries the RP2350 looks nice. What is this..got a link?

This board is the so-called Murmulator 2.0
The second version, unlike the first versions of Murmulators, is still in the development stage. The purpose of redesigning the circuit was to create a Pico2 on the RP2350A with HDMI support.
PicoMite HDMI works great on this board, including PWM sound, PS/2 keyboard and mouse, SD card, and it is also possible to connect an external USB Hub.
Murmulator boards are an inexpensive solution for credit card-sized development boards for creating retro console emulators on the RPi Pico.
There are many emulator firmwares, but only for Murmulator 1.x.
For Murmulator 2.0, I think there is only ZX-Spectrum at the moment, but this is just the beginning of the promotion.
I don’t know if it is permissible to open a topic on this board here on the forum?
If you are interested, write me a personal message.
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3310
Posted: 07:23pm 22 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  javavi said  I don’t know if it is permissible to open a topic on this board here on the forum?


Anyone can open a microprocessor topic in this "Microcontrollers and PC projects" forum--no restriction on which microprocessor.

Obviously, microprocessors which run MMBasic get most of the coverage.
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9486
Posted: 12:27am 23 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  Are you aware that you can't buy RP2350 chips - only built modules?


Can we all ASSUME that RP will be selling just the 2350 chips at some point, as they do now with the 2040?  Can I ASSUME that you can only buy modules at the moment, as stocks of the new 2350 chips are not huge, so RP are only selling them to companies making modules that use them, yes?  I also recall there being a silicon error on the new chips.  Nothing drastic, but perhaps they are fixing that before selling discrete chips to people?

I've had a bit of a hunt around on the RP website and forum, but cannot find any mention of this aspect of things.  Peter - you do a lot of work with these chips - do you have any information on that?  Wondering if an in-house all-in-one board similar to the CMM1.5 currently available, where the 2040 chip is directly mounted to the PCB design, therefore not requiring you to use 3rd-party modules.

I always prefer the all-in-one designs, as they just look neater and more tidy then designs having plug-in modules.  Speaking as someone who has designed boards where you plug in modules etc myself, but I don't love the concept that much!  

However, this is more of a personal preference of mine, more then for any kind of functional reasons.  
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10067
Posted: 08:17am 23 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The latest on the Pi forums suggests no chips before end quarter 1 at the earliest
 
javavi

Guru

Joined: 01/10/2023
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 436
Posted: 09:13am 23 Dec 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

What chip are you talking about?
I just looked, RP2350A chips are sold for ~5$ on AliExpress
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia.
© JAQ Software 2025