Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 18:03 20 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Help with compiling maximite code

Page 1 of 2    
Dave Everett

Posted: 10:54am 07 Jul 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Guys,

I just finished building up a maximite from a PCB purchased from Trippy Ben.

Tonight I tried compiling the maximite code in MPLAB, I am getting "Link Step Failed".

I'm an assembler programmer so this is my first foray into C so I might be doing something stupidly easy to fix, but it is eluding me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dave

aargee

Posted: 11:06am 07 Jul 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Dave,

Are you trying to compile it for a reason, or just want to load the PIC with the Maximite code?

If the latter, all I did was to download the 2.1 + Bootloader hex file from Geoff's site and program the PIC with the PicKit3. I then upgraded to 2.4 via the method Geoff outlines. No compiling is needed.

See here, the procedure is the same, even though the hardware is a bit different..

- Rob.
For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED.

stuarts

Posted: 11:15am 07 Jul 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Dave, I ran into a similar problem. I cant remember the exact details, but there are 2 different c compilers on the website. you might also want to check a post I made about problems that I had compiling code. you cant use a compiler more modern than 1.11b. Geoff left a message in the other topic with a link to the older versions of the c compiler. I seem to remember that I had to install the compiler before mplab. I dont think I am using the compiler that comes packages with mplab.