Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 16:42 27 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MM: Directories

Author Message
Juri74

Senior Member

Joined: 06/02/2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 162
Posted: 03:28am 14 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

i'm a little bit confused about moving trough directories in a program..
suppose you have an empty sdcard with two directories:

GAMES
APPS

now chdir to directory GAMES

when in GAMES store path in a variable T$=Cwd$

now chdir to APPS directory

when in APPS directory if you type 'Chdir T$' you remain in APPS directory

why? could someone help please?

Juri
 
greybeard
Senior Member

Joined: 04/01/2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 157
Posted: 03:45am 14 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I suspect the path is relative to where you are. Try printing out what you have in T$ when you save the path.
To get to APPS from GAMES you would need to go up a directory level and then back down again. But what you are doing in your test code is trying to change directory from B:/GAMES to B:/GAMES/APPS instead of B:/APPS I reckon T$ only has "APPS" in it when you loaded Cwd$ into it. ( I may have the / the wrong way around but you should be able to see what I mean )
A good tip when something doesn't work is to print out all the variables to see what is actually in them.
cheers
Rod
 
Juri74

Senior Member

Joined: 06/02/2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 162
Posted: 04:14am 14 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello i tried a bit and i noticed that
the T$ variable appear to store the entire path (B:\GAMES or B:\APPS)

i tried by hands and it appear that if i remove the drive name the Chdir command start working
example i'm in APPS directory and i want to go to GAMES directory
if i type: Chdir "\GAMES" it work
but if i type: Chdir "B:\GAMES" it doesn't work

EDIT: probably Chdir should work in that way because the command Drive is used to change drive, i could type Chdir "A:\somedir" while i'm in B: drive...

i found a workaround my original line was "bkd$=Cwd$" (bkd$ is to back up path)
now is "bkd$=Right$(Cwd$,len(Cwd$)-2)"

thank you
JuriEdited by Juri74 2013-03-15
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024