Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 06:33 09 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Commercial product Using MMbasic?

StoveMan

Posted: 10:10am 30 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all,
Just thought I would outline a project I am considering porting to MMbasic and Maximite(or clone). I am an engineer for a company which produces wood boilers. I head a team which has designed a high efficiency unit currently in testing. This product would benefit from a field up-datable easy to modify control system which dealers or service techs could understand.

PROJECT DETAILS:
5- K thermocouples IN via SPI
1- Oxygen sensor IN 0-5v
4- NO switches DIO
2- Quad encoder IN 5v

2-DC motor OUT via serial packets
1- BLDC motor OUT 0-5v

Control system uses PID for actual motor output but fuzzy logic for state determination (fancy name for IF-THEN!).

This is a big project (2.5 M$) with partial funding by State money here in the USA. I have not written all code yet... just trying to get things talking. I am a bit concerned with program size and execution speed. Has anyone written a program to big to fit? Where is the glass ceiling?

CONCERNS:
(Geoff) I know a big driver in your effort revolved around an 'open source' paradigm. In other words, we all should feel a moral responsibility to pass on and disseminate knowledge to others (esp. the young) without selfishly requiring $$ for it.
What are your thoughts? Where is the line between educational/hobby/commercial use drawn?