Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 11:24 09 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MM TIME$ PLEASE? Where X<>1 !!!

Author Message
Nixie
Regular Member

Joined: 19/02/2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
Posted: 08:46pm 30 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Instead of X equalling 1, it doesn't !
If I adjust the PAUSE to 1000, yes it all behaves itself. But I can't afford to do that because I want to use it without using PAUSE in a program where I want to measue times of less than one second. I know I could cheat by using what X turns out to be, but I'm hoping for a more elegant solution?

Any assistance greatly appreciated. Using an original BW MM with ver 4.3 firmware/ mmbasic.
THE PROGRAM:

100 CLS: M=0
120 S=VAL(MID$((TIME$),7,2)) 'S= the number of seconds from the internal clock
130 IF S=59 THEN M=M+1 'Increment the counter M every 60 seconds
140 PAUSE 200 'Without PAUSE X=310 on the first pass!
150 PRINT M,S
160 IF M=3 THEN END
170 GOTO 120

ONSCREEN RESULTS:

0 58
0 58
1 59
2 59
3 59
4 59
5 59
5 0
5 0
5 0
5 0
5 1
5 1
Etc..

Many thanks, Nic

"Biggles Smiled Grimly"
 
Nixie
Regular Member

Joined: 19/02/2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
Posted: 08:58pm 30 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Oh dear, I did mean M NOT X.
So sorry, my attention to detail slipped.
Thanks, N
 
MM_Wombat
Senior Member

Joined: 12/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 139
Posted: 09:35pm 30 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

try,

100 CLS : M=0 : flag=0
.
130 if s=59 AND flag=0 then m=m+1 : flag = 1
140 if s=0 then flag=0 ' reset flag for next occurrence of 59
.
.
.
.
.

obviously this will fill the screen with lots of values.

change 150 to 150 print @(0,30) m,s;" "

which will keep the output on one line

Regards dennis
Keep plugging away, it is fun learning
But can be expensive (if you keep blowing things up).

Maximite, ColourMaximite, MM+
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5916
Posted: 09:41pm 30 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nic,
Try this version:
CLS: M=0
_Lbl120:
S=VAL(MID$((TIME$),7,2)) 'S= the number of seconds from the internal clock
IF S=0 THEN ' use zero rather than 59 to increment the minutes
if first=0 then ' only inc on the first time through with zero
first =1 ' set the flag to stop further incs
M=M+1 'Increment the counter M every 60 seconds
endif
else
first=0 ' we have passed the zero so we can reset the flag
endif
PAUSE 200 'Without PAUSE X=310 on the first pass!
PRINT M,S
IF M=3 THEN END
GOTO _Lbl120


And then study the SETTICK way of doing things.
You can use SETTICK to run a short routine every second (or whatever period) and do the counting then return to the main program.
That way we are not sitting helpless in a pause.

Jim

Beaten by slow typing again!Edited by TassyJim 2013-04-01
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
MM_Wombat
Senior Member

Joined: 12/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 139
Posted: 09:51pm 30 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Great minds think alike TassyJim.

I didn't think of the settick function, if that makes you feel any better.

1 finger typer myself...

Regards Dennis
Keep plugging away, it is fun learning
But can be expensive (if you keep blowing things up).

Maximite, ColourMaximite, MM+
 
Nixie
Regular Member

Joined: 19/02/2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 66
Posted: 01:33am 31 Mar 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ah ha! I am enlightened!
Jim, Dennis, thank you, thank you! This is just so great to get assistance!
..and yes, not only have you answered a couple of puzzles, you expand my knowledge too!
Best regards, Nic.
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024