Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 16:33 27 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Local variable size limit

Author Message
BobDevries

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 266
Posted: 03:39pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all,

is there a limit toi the size of LOCAL variables in functions?

I'm getting an error: stack overflow. Expression is too complex.

The code:


Function fkey(funkey)
Local F$,I$
F$=Chr$(145)+Chr$(146)+Chr$(147)+Chr$(148)+Chr$(149)+Chr$(15 0)+Chr$(151)
F$=F$+Chr$(152)+Chr$(153)+Chr$(154)+Chr$(155)+Chr$(156)

key: I$=Inkey$:If I$="" GoTo key
funkey = Instr(1,F$,I$)
Return


What am I doing wrong?

Regards,

Bob Devries
Dalby, QLD, Australia
 
BobD

Guru

Joined: 07/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 935
Posted: 03:49pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Typo?
Chr$(15 0)extra space

should that be Chr$(150) ?

Bob
 
BobDevries

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 266
Posted: 03:53pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Bob,

I checked that, but it seems to be an artifact of cutting and pasting into the forum.
There's no space in my code.

Regards,

Bob Devries
Dalby, QLD, Australia
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2870
Posted: 03:53pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  BobD said   Typo?
Chr$(15 0)extra space

should that be Chr$(150) ?

Bob


I would expect that that problem would be the infamous `The Bad Shed' Add extra spaces to long lines (that arent broken by a space)


Regards,

Mick
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
BobDevries

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 266
Posted: 04:08pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi All,

even if I remove the line that declares the LOCAL variables, I then get the same error on the line:


key: I$=inkey$:if I$="" then goto key

Have I unearthed a (dare I say it?) bug? Or am I doing something basically (pun intended) wrong?

Regards,

Bob Devries
Dalby, QLD, Australia
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1326
Posted: 05:08pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Bob, I think I had this problem some time ago - try putting the label on a separate line,

key:
I$=inkey$:if I$="" goto key


Greg
 
BobDevries

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 266
Posted: 05:10pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ah, now that you mention it....

I'll give that a try.

Regards,

Bob Devries
Dalby, QLD, Australia
 
BobDevries

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 266
Posted: 05:17pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Greg & all,

Yep, that works now.
Strange thing is... if I put the same line as inline in the main body of the programme, no error is generated. Go figure.

Regards,

Bob Devries
Dalby, QLD, Australia
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3165
Posted: 05:28pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Bob,

This is the first time that I have seen someone hit the "stack overflow" error. It is not caused by a local variable being too big - local variables have exactly the same rules as normal variables.

What happens is that the interpreter evaluates an expression by recursively calling itself and while doing that it saves temporary values onto the stack. The stack overflow error means that the expression is so complex that the interpreter has used up all the RAM reserved for the stack.

The problem here is that the expressions in the sample program are not nearly complex enough to cause this error. Also the loop at the label "key:" could not be causing a stack overflow because there is no complex expression there either.

I tried running the program but it does not run and it does not make any sense. You declare a function but there is no END FUNCTION statement, instead you use RETURN when there is no GOSUB to return to. I suspect that it is this mangled code that is somehow tripping up the interpreter which then runs off the rails causing the stack overflow error.

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1326
Posted: 06:14pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Geoffg said  Bob,...... You declare a function but there is no END FUNCTION statement, instead you use RETURN when there is no GOSUB to return to. I suspect that it is this mangled code that is somehow tripping up the interpreter which then runs off the rails causing the stack overflow error.
Geoff
That's probably what I was doing too Geoff. At the time I remember I'd mixed up various combinations of "GOSUB", "FUNCTION", "END FUNCTION", "RETURN" and labels (no ":" on them) a couple of times before I fnally got the code working.
Greg
 
BobDevries

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 266
Posted: 06:24pm 21 May 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The final code which works is here:


Function fkey()
Local F$, I$
F$=Chr$(145)+Chr$(146)+Chr$(147)+Chr$(148)+Chr$(149)+Chr$(15 0)+Chr$(151)
F$=F$+Chr$(152)+Chr$(153)+Chr$(154)+Chr$(155)+Chr$(156)
F$=F$+"Q"+"q"

key:
I$=Inkey$:If I$="" Then GoTo key
fkey=Instr(1,F$,I$)
End Function


@Geoff:
You're probably right about what really caused the error. I had mixed up the function/end function with Gosub/Return.

I'd say the interpreter got confused; I know I was :P

Regards,

Bob Devries
Dalby, QLD, Australia
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024