Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 20:42 09 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Duinomite (or ColorMaximite) & Midi

Author Message
hitsware
Guru

Joined: 23/11/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 535
Posted: 02:10am 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I just got 1 of these:

http://shop.moderndevice.com/products/fluxamasynth

The midi com standard says:
32.25 kbps
1 start bit
1 stop bit

I can't figure how to get the start and stop bits ?
The Duinomite will do the 32.25K but the manual
(OPEN COM) doesn't mention # of bits or start or stop
The ColorMaximite manual says the com is 8 data bits,
no parity, 1 stop bit (only speed adjustable)

Thanks for any insight ....

 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3674
Posted: 08:33am 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Chances are it's always 1 start bit and will actually be 1 stop bit.

Try it :)

I suppose you could look at the C code to see what it does...

John
 
hitsware
Guru

Joined: 23/11/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 535
Posted: 11:18am 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks .... Yea, looks like maybe the default settings are right.
(though I'm not positive)
Can't get a squeek though :(


" For 8-N-1 encoding, only 80% of the bits are available for data
(for every eight bits of data, ten bits are sent over the serial
link — one start bit, the eight data bits, and the one stop bit)."
 
MicroBlocks

Guru

Joined: 12/05/2012
Location: Thailand
Posts: 2209
Posted: 11:21am 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You might need to invert the signal.

Microblocks. Build with logic.
 
JTR0701
Regular Member

Joined: 10/07/2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Posted: 12:15pm 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I think you will find that MIDI is 31.25kb/S and not 32.25kb/S. The start and stop bit are added by the PIC32 hardware UART and unless MMBasic provides an option for TWO stop bits then all the defaults are OK.

As TZ points out you do need to be more concerned about compatible physical interfacing with your module, particularly with the polarity and voltage levels of the MIDI signal. The data sheet for the module should have this information.
 
hitsware
Guru

Joined: 23/11/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 535
Posted: 01:30pm 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

> I think you will find that MIDI is 31.25kb/S and not 32.25kb/S.

Right. Senior moments.

>The start and stop bit are added by the PIC32 hardware UART
>and unless MMBasic provides an option for TWO stop bits then
>all the defaults are OK.

I hope so.

>As TZ points out you do need to be more concerned about compatible
>physical interfacing with your module, particularly with the polarity
>and voltage levels of the MIDI signal. The data sheet for the module
>should have this information.

I'm pretty sure I'm good there. The synth normally goes on an Arduino
board and snaps right on to the DuinoMite. Feeding it random numbers
should get some noise if even the data was inverted but doesn't ... Edited by hitsware 2013-07-17
 
JTR0701
Regular Member

Joined: 10/07/2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 71
Posted: 01:35pm 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  hitsware said   Feeding it random numbers
should get some noise if even the data was inverted but doesn't ...


No! The start and stop bits would also be inverted. What you will get is framing errors on the MIDI module, not random sounds.
 
hitsware
Guru

Joined: 23/11/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 535
Posted: 04:26pm 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  JTR0701 said  
  hitsware said   Feeding it random numbers
should get some noise if even the data was inverted but doesn't ...


No! The start and stop bits would also be inverted. What you will get is framing errors on the MIDI module, not random sounds.

I thought the 'start and stop bits' were automatic from the urt
(independent of the data) ????
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3674
Posted: 08:01pm 16 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes, automatic but if they're inverted then you'll need to correct (reinvert) them.

Do check the volts, too, as the PIC32 is a 3.3V device and maybe your Arduino is 5V?

JohnEdited by JohnS 2013-07-18
 
hitsware
Guru

Joined: 23/11/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 535
Posted: 05:36am 17 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Volts are OK
12V up from to Fluxamasynth 'shield' from DuinoMite
Onboard 3.3V regulator, so synthchip is 3.3V
Data coming up is 3.3V pulsetrain
I need to look close at the chips data sheet.
Maybe there is an initialization code or ????
 
hitsware
Guru

Joined: 23/11/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 535
Posted: 10:20am 18 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Problem Solved !

http://www.thebackshed.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=5938&PN =1&TPN=1
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3674
Posted: 10:59am 18 Jul 2013
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Excellent!
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024