Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.
cosmic frog Senior Member Joined: 09/02/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 300
Posted: 10:07am 21 Jun 2014
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Hi, I'm thinking about building Geoff's VT100 compatible terminal.
On the diagram it uses a PIC32MX250 chip, I want to know if I can use the
PIC32MX150. Whats the differnce?
Thanks. Dave.
Lou Senior Member Joined: 01/02/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 229
Posted: 11:35am 21 Jun 2014
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Dave, The MX250 has on-board USB, you'll need that.
LouMicrocontrollers - the other white meat
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9486
Posted: 02:42pm 21 Jun 2014
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Yep, for the terminal, you can't use the MicroMite 150's, as Lou says.
You CAN, however, use the 250's as MicoMite chips, but you lose the pins reserved for the USB connection on the chip, as this is not used in the uM.
Basically, the only difference between the chips, is that the 250's have the USB interface in the chip, but the 150's don't. As one of the main uses for the terminal, IS a terminal, you really do need that USB port on the 250 chip, to be able to talk back to the terminal software. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
MicroBlocks Guru Joined: 12/05/2012 Location: ThailandPosts: 2209
Posted: 06:10pm 21 Jun 2014
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Wasn't it the whole point that you do NOT need a USB port and a PC connection to have a terminal. The VT100 in a pic IS the terminal.
The USB is for extra convenience so that you have a USB to serial converter and a way of transferring programs from your pc to the uMite.
So, it should be possible to use a 150 if you do not need the connection with a PC.
The hex is for a 250, you would need to remove the code for the USB peripheral and recompile it. Not really worth the trouble i think.
Edited by TZAdvantage 2014-06-23Microblocks. Build with logic.
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9486
Posted: 09:09pm 21 Jun 2014
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
You are quite right - my mistake on that. Yes, there is a header on the PCB for the serial connection, and USB is a way to upgrade the firmware, as the board has a BOOTLOAD jumper.Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
cosmic frog Senior Member Joined: 09/02/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 300
Posted: 11:35pm 21 Jun 2014
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Thanks for all your comments.
According to Farnells the PIC32MX150F128-50I (50Mhz version) does have USB support.
I Suppose what I'm really asking is could the code be used on any of these chips without modification and just not use the features the PIC32MX250 has or will the code refuse to work on anything other than the PIC32MX250?
Thanks. Dave.
Grogster Admin Group Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9486
Posted: 02:02am 22 Jun 2014
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
Using any chip that is NOT what is specified is somewhat up in the air a bit.
However, try it, see what happens, and let us know! Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Goeytex Regular Member Joined: 12/05/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 74
Posted: 02:27am 22 Jun 2014
Copy link to clipboard
Print this post
[quote]According to Farnells the PIC32MX150F128-50I (50Mhz version) does have USB support. [/quote]
That is a mistake on Farnell's Product Page. The MX150F128 and MX250F128 share a datasheet but only the MX250F128 has USB. Always go by the datasheet.