Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 10:36 15 May 2025 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Using a MAX6675 SPI Thermocouple amp...

Author Message
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9501
Posted: 02:59pm 10 Sep 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all.

I am looking at these on eBay.

Output from the 6675 chip is SPI interface, and as I have never used this before, do any of you here see any issues connecting this thing to a MicroMite chip?

Can't upload the PDF, as it is bigger then the upload size limit, but HERE is a link to the page and download for the PDF.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 767
Posted: 04:16pm 10 Sep 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hey Grogs..

I have used the MAX31855 part for the EIS system and it seems to work well.. I spun up a chunk of spaghetti code for the color MM that displayed bar graphs and such... I want to get back on it when things settle down a bit... (right) Anyway, Maxim also makes a ready to go module that offers a way better frontend that has protection and proper termination caps, ect.. I didn't see any such things on the Ebay module... I first got a couple of the chips, and played around, they worked ok.. But, after getting the modules, I noticed way better readings, and after getting the PDF's on it, I saw the proper "front end" circuitry.. I can dig it up if you want...
 
jman

Guru

Joined: 12/06/2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 711
Posted: 06:55pm 12 Sep 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi

I have used the Max31855 Max31855 Datasheet

They look real similar
Here is my code for the MAX31855 not very tidy but it works

Dim byte(4)


SetPin 6, 2 'set rx pin As a digital input
SetPin 7, 8 'set tx pin As an output
Pin(4) = 1 : SetPin 4, 8 'set clk pin high Then set it As an output
Pin(5) = 1 : SetPin 5, 8 'pin 11 will be used As the enable signal

start:

Pin(5) = 0 'assert the enable line (active low)


For I = 0 To 3
byte(I) = SPI(6, 7, 4) 'get the first byte from the slave

Next i

Pin(5) = 1

tmp = (byte(0) * 16) + (byte(1) \ 16)
tmpdec = byte(1) \ 4 And &B00000011
tmpdec = tmpdec * .25
tmp = tmp + tmpdec
tmp1 = tmp + Tmp1
Pause 100

sc = sc + 1

If sc < 10 Then
GoTo start
EndIf


Printme:
tmp = tmp1 / 10

tmp$ = Format$(tmp,"%6.1f")
? tmp$
sc = 0
tmp1 = 0

GoTo start


Regards
Jmam
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9501
Posted: 07:12pm 12 Sep 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thank you - I will study your code.

I am also looking at the AD595 chip, as it outputs a voltage - 10mV/'C

The 595 can be had on eBay for about $12, but is VERY simple to get up and running, so should be as simple as reading the pin set as analog in - T=PIN(10) kind of thing.Edited by Grogster 2014-09-14
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia.
© JAQ Software 2025