Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 18:18 05 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Forcing leading zeros

Author Message
Lee3
Regular Member

Joined: 17/09/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 57
Posted: 01:25pm 10 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I've written some code that adds a number of minutes to the current time, and outputs a new time. This is on a umite.
e.g 23:00 + 125 minutes = 01:05
instead in this case what I would get is 1:5

is there a way of forcing a leading zero?

I could probably do something with if/then/length operators to decide if the number has 1 or 2 digits, and add a zero, but I suspect there is a much more elegant way ahead.... :)

Cheers
LeeEdited by Lee3 2014-12-11
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5914
Posted: 05:06pm 10 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

For the micromite, STR$ will do what you want:
h=1
m=5
s=0
myTime$=STR$(h,2,0,"0")+":"+STR$(m,2,0,"0")+":"+STR$(s,2,0," 0")

print myTime$


Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Lee3
Regular Member

Joined: 17/09/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 57
Posted: 05:40pm 10 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jim
will try it out tonight.
Lee
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1328
Posted: 08:34pm 10 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@Lee3,

Be careful to remove that extra space that the board has dropped into Jim's "mytime$=... line there Lee - near the end. The last expression doesn't contain a space, it should be +STR$(s,2,0,"0"). It's an ongoing problem that the bulletin board has whenever a long string is posted without any spaces.

Greg
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5914
Posted: 08:45pm 10 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

And it was only the other day that I pointed out that you can ofter get arround the extra space problem by putting your own spaces where they don't cause problems:

h=1
m=5
s=0
myTime$=STR$(h,2,0,"0")+":"+ STR$(m,2,0,"0")+":"+ STR$(s,2,0,"0")

print myTime$


I should pay attention to myself more often.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1328
Posted: 09:16pm 10 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I remembered that Jim but didn't like to mention it.
 
Lee3
Regular Member

Joined: 17/09/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 57
Posted: 09:18pm 10 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I saw that space, wasn't going to put it in.... :)
Then I saw in the manual this is all spelled out....
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024