Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 01:34 19 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MKII and Data logging

Author Message
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 11:46am 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,

i want to use the MK II for a temperature data logging project.
I would like to read the logged Data directly with a PC.
The MK II can not be moved to the PC and vice versa.
A SD Card would be perfect, but the MK II doesnt Support a Filesystem like the Maximite.
Has anyone out there a good idea how i can write Data to a device like an SD card. That can be plugged into a PC to read the logged Data?

THX in advance.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8605
Posted: 11:56am 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Openlog
 
plasma
Guru

Joined: 08/04/2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 437
Posted: 12:11pm 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

maybe you can use an esp8266 to send the log to a server , cheaper as openlog

or create an acesspoint with the esp and transfer the data to your handy
and from handy to pc ..Edited by plasma 2014-12-23
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 12:33pm 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  plasma said   maybe you can use an esp8266 to send the log to a server , cheaper as openlog

or create an acesspoint with the esp and transfer the data to your handy
and from handy to pc ..


No WLAN possible....😞
 
palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1805
Posted: 12:38pm 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

What about a wireless module. Would that work.
Paul.
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 12:44pm 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  palcal said   What about a wireless module. Would that work.
Paul.


No Wireless possible.
It must run stand alone / autark..
 
plasma
Guru

Joined: 08/04/2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 437
Posted: 12:50pm 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

no problem , the esp create an accespoint for you , chime in with your handy , download the data and
go to to your pc and connect it over wlan (easy) or usb ( a little bit moore complicated)

also bluetooth is working.
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9082
Posted: 01:02pm 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

As matherp suggested, use an OpenLOG module. Not exactly the cheapest module in the world, but it is quick, easy, and it works right out of the box.

What's nice about this module, is you just throw data at it using a serial connection(the default is 9600,8N1), and it sucks anything you send it in and saves it on the uSD card for you as a 8-dot-3 type file on a FAT16 filesystem - dead easy to read back from any PC, or, indeed, Mac or Linux system too.

So long as you don't need more then one or maybe two, this is probably the best(read: most simple way to add an SD card for logging) way forward.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 10:02pm 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,

meanwhile i found an article in the elektor. They use a Pic PIC24FJ64GB002-I/SP and a USB Stick.
Works the same way like openlog.
It is simple to solder and Source / Hexcode is available.
Will cost max. 5 Bugs., PIC, Quarz, some chickenfood, ready.

If there is any interest, PM .

Elektor 12/2011 Page 34

All necessary programs and software libraries are available free of charge and the firmware source files can be downloaded at no cost from the Elektor project web site [1]. The firmware can be programmed into the data logger microcontroller using a PICkit 3 for example. A pre-programmer microcontroller can also be purchased from the project website [1] which should help speed up construction even more.

www.elektor.com/110409
Edited by atmega8 2014-12-24
 
kiiid

Guru

Joined: 11/05/2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 671
Posted: 11:08pm 22 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Probably a perfect fit for one of my offers ? A through-hole plcc socket has 2.54mm pitch and is dead easy to solder anywhere.
http://rittle.org

--------------
 
cwilt
Senior Member

Joined: 20/03/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 147
Posted: 05:18pm 23 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Does the mkII do something that you can not do on a maximite? I know it has direct access to some sensors that the maxi does not but you did not say that in your first post. There are more than a few different maximite alternatives, like kiid's, that can give you mmbasic and SD filesystem.
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 10:10pm 23 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Well what would be fine is both, the support of all the external devices that MK II supports and the Filesystem Support the Maximite has, combined with a simple chip in DIL Format like the MX 170.

Today is Christma, let' s see what Santa Claus will bring to us;-).

Merry Christmas to all Forum visitors.

 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9082
Posted: 10:23pm 23 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Frohe Weihnachten! (Merry Christmas)

Once you start adding filesystem support to a microcontroller, it is no longer a microcontroller, IMHO.

Adding support for a native filesystem to the Micromite, would take up large amounts of memory, me thinks, and not THAT many people would use it on an embedded platform. Most data logging or reading at MCU level, can be done with FRAM chips.

That said, this is EXACTLY why things like the OpenLog exist - dead easy to add to an existing MCU, if you need to be able to save data in a form that a big computer needs to read.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 11:56pm 24 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hey cool,

openlog is well documented and kind of open Source.

So you can build your own/DIY;-).

They are relative expansive, cost 20-25 Dollars.

Didn't find cheaper ones in the Bay, the Chinese guys are still sleeping.....

Any cheaper found?

Merrry XMas to all of you 🎅Edited by atmega8 2014-12-26
 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 761
Posted: 04:47am 25 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Possibly a job for the DIP-600-28 uMite board...



 
viscomjim
Guru

Joined: 08/01/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 925
Posted: 05:13am 25 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Zonker, sorry if this has been asked before, what is the pricing and availability of your awesome board, and which fram did you wind up using?

Thanks and Merry Christmas!!!
 
Zonker

Guru

Joined: 18/08/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 761
Posted: 05:41am 25 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Merry Christmas Jim...!

Just got done programming 11 of these last night... Lou did an awesome job soldering up the rest of the batch of 21 prototypes... It's a bit pricey at $30 but we got the parts from Digikey so that should be about the "high" price... I am sure they could be built for cheaper... We will probably be sending a few to Phil to have a look at... I guess I could sell a few for the moment....

I will be putting in a simple test program that tests the RTC and Fram chip for the user... I went in to the FTDI chip and reprogramed the tables to allow 200ma of Vbus power so you can power your whole setup from the board... Also made the little blue LED flash during Rx-Tx transfers.... Fram chip is the FM1256-G

2014-12-25_154040_DIP-600-28_DigiKey_BOM.zip

Edit: Fram "chip shot"...


Edited by Zonker 2014-12-26
 
atmega8

Guru

Joined: 19/11/2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 712
Posted: 02:40pm 25 Dec 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ordered today 2 of the "Original" openlog devices for approx 10€/ pice via ebay.

Can't do IT cheaper by DIY....
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024