Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 07:09 12 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : 128x64 OLED SSD1306 - I2C Help

KRZ3

Posted: 03:29pm 03 Feb 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the Back shed and Micromite and I'm coming over from Picaxe land. With a lot of thanks to Grogster I'm slowing converting some code over. I wanted to add a OLED screen to one of my projects and I bought this one OLED. I hooked it up the I2C pins on the micromite and copied matherp's SSD1306 I2C code in MMEdit and all I get is a blank screen. Any ideas?

Thanks for any help!
Keith

KRZ3

Posted: 03:33pm 03 Feb 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I will add I get
Starting initialization
Using 0.96inch I2C SSD1306
in the micromite chat
and that is all

Grogster

Admin Group

Posted: 03:39pm 03 Feb 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello.

As far as I know, matherps fantastic Cfunctions for displays are for SPI or parallel interface. I don't recall seeing a matherp Cfunction for I2C displays, but I might have missed it.....

Being I2C, I would imagine that you SHOULD be able to do whatever you need to do on the screen, with simple I2C commands - you will need to check the manual for the driver IC, which should list the I2C commands it supports, and what they do.

Do you have 4k7-ish pull-up resistors on the I2C lines?

EDIT:
  Quote   copied matherp's SSD1306 I2C code

Whoops - sorry. So there is some I2C code then.Edited by Grogster 2015-02-05
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!

KRZ3

Posted: 04:05pm 03 Feb 2015
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I tried the pull-up resistors and nothing.

Grogster