Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 22:21 04 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Another really old yank newbie.

Page 1 of 2    
Paul_L
Guru

Posted: 03:06pm 05 Mar 2016
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Last month I wrote to Geoff for his suggestions. He suggested I come here and bother you guys because he was imminently departing for Tasmania.

I'm a 76 year old retired engineer / physicist. I studied at Cornell, MIT, and Columbia Universities, worked in broadcast engineering, then at Pan Am in avionics engineering for a third of a century, then I rebuilt tugboats in Galveston, Texas. Now I hang out watching television and dreaming up unusual things to do. I live in Fishkill Plains, NY, some 75 miles north of NYC and 5 miles from both the IBM microprocessor fab and the IBM mainframe plant. I've been down under, visited Sydney, Brisbane, Darwin, Perth, Melbourne, Hobart, Ayers Rock and Katja Tjuta, the first time in 1947. After working for Pan Am I've been everywhere except Antartica and Tierra Del Fuego.

Four years ago, in response to the then ridiculous price of $4 per gallon for #2 heating oil, I decided to install a geothermal heat pump in my house. I dug a pit about 60 feet x 100 feet x 7 feet deep in which I buried 6000 feet of HDPE pipe. A water and antifreeze mixture circulates in this loop picking up heat from the ground and supplying it to a 72000 Btu/hour Freon heat pump which raises the temperature and distributes heat to the house. In the summer it reverses its operation and pumps heat from the house into the ground.