Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 18:18 10 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Integer overflow into sign bit

flip

Posted: 12:49am 12 Mar 2017
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all!
I've been using Maximite and Micromite for some years, and having as much fun as when I started playing with DEC Basic with 4k magnetic core using time-share using big freaky old 110 baud dot-matrix printing terminals back in 1975 doing computer studies in year 11...

But I know I am just a pup...there are people on this forum whose experience goes back a lot further

This is to note that there seems to be a problem with integer overflow/bounds checking... (I thought I recalled previous discussion but searched and could not find any previous post on subject)
It happened to me with 2 different MX470 (both are at 5.03.02)...(all following done from command prompt)

> x%=2
> for i%=1 to 20:x%=x%*i%:next i%
> ? x%
> x%=x%*2
> ? x%
>

This behaviour is likely to be correct and to be expected if we understand how the bits work in machine code, and a result of carry-over of the most significant bit into the sign bit. And of course it should always be the programmer's responsibility to ensure our variables don't get out of hand.

If it can be fixed (generate an error) it would be great but maybe not at the expense of performance or huge chunks of checking code in the firmware? But that's entirely up to Geoff of course.

Thanks all for your great contributions and helping keeping my brain ticking over as I head towards old age...
Regards,
PhilEdited by flip 2017-03-13

Geoffg

Guru

Posted: 03:48am 12 Mar 2017
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post