Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 21:55 19 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Windmills : Chinese Wind Turbines on eBay.

Chinese Rubbish

Posted: 12:04pm 26 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi guys, I'm new to the whole wind turbine scene, so please bear with me.
I am at present camping my way around Australia in a caravan and was thinking about getting one of these
I don't for one minute believe one of these Chinese turbines would produce anywhere near what they claim, but I'd be happy with 300w+ for the price.
I want to charge a 12v 120ah battery, so my question is; do I get a 12v one and it'll have to run a higher rpm to make 300w or should I get 24v one and it runs slower but makes more power at a lower rpm?
I know it sounds like a stupid question, but surely there's a method in my madness...or I could just buy the Eco-Worthy  400w turbine for 3x the price, but maybe a more reliable product?
What's your thoughts?
Anything helpful would be greatly received.

Thanks,
Paddy.

Warpspeed
Guru

Posted: 01:42am 27 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Welcome to the Forum Paddy.

I suppose it depends how much wind you are seeing in your travels, location is everything.

It would be brilliant on a yacht out at sea, or along the top of coastal cliffs.
Not so great camped out in the bush among very tall trees, obviously.

Full ratings 11.4 metres/sec (41.4 Kmh) you would be lucky to be able to stand up in that.

Then there is the problem of carting the whole thing around, plus a pole long enough to mount it on around with you in your wanderings.
Cheers,  Tony.

Chinese Rubbish

Posted: 03:17am 27 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post