Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 19:00 30 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : battery charging circuit?

mahela007

Posted: 05:16am 08 Jul 2008
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

i have a motor that generated DC current which i want to hook up to my windmill. It provides a good current flow as well. I got it out of my old VCR. Anyway can someone pls tell me how to build a circuit to charge batteries with this motor? I checked out the minimill but it has an alternating current motor. (I'm just a newbie to all this windmill stuff).
how come its not very windy where i live???

davef
Guru

Posted: 10:12am 09 Jul 2008
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'd start off by measuring a few things like voltage output versus RPM for a selection of fixed load resistors. Then work out the current you have in each case.

You may find that the voltage levels are not appropriate for direct charging of your chosen battery.

You then can either opt for non-optimal loading of your generator or find information on buck/boost/SEPIC converters.

Good luck

mahela007

Posted: 11:02am 09 Jul 2008
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

could i please have a little more infomation on these converters? What execatly do they do?

oztules

Guru

Posted: 12:48pm 09 Jul 2008
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

In it's simplest form, a blocking diode between the generator and the battery is all you need for a tiny system.
This consists of connecting your generators negative output to your batteries neg terminal, connecting your generator's positive output to the anode of a diode, and then connecting the cathode of the diode to the positive of your battery.