Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 00:22 27 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : the ubiquitous 555

Page 1 of 2    
mackoffgrid

Guru

Posted: 05:27am 28 Jul 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nostalgia, the Moon Landing thread, and Tony's Simplified Solar Hot Water thread ; Natasha's statement
  LadyN said  Time to learn what the 555 is, how it works, etc. Last time I studied a datasheet in details - the TL431, took me a month :(
had me thinking how ubiquitous the humble 555 is.

My very first project, many decades ago, was a 555 two tone doorbell.

Since I've used them for all sorts of things including astables, bistables, flip flops, modulators, demodulators, and the list goes on.

Here's a list 50 555 circuits

I can't say my 555 circuits are particularly clever - barely remember what I've done but it'd be interesting and possibly challenging to see some clever 555 circuits before tiny micros totally replace the humble 555.

Cheers
Andrew

Poppy

Guru

Posted: 08:24am 30 Jul 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Andrew,

I agree, the 555 is such a little nice thing and for starting hobby electronics and somehow later it still is the best IC to play around with!

Some more reading:
https://archive.org/details/Signetics555556Timers
https://archive.org/details/555TimerAndItsApplicationsSharma
https://archive.org/details/electronics_-_Forrest_Mims-engineers_mini-notebook_555_timer_circuits_radio_sha
https://archive.org/details/TimerOpAmpOptoelectronicCircuitsProjects

Andre ... such a GURU?

westie42

Posted: 10:09am 03 Aug 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

evening andrew