Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 16:30 20 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Converting regular alternator to 48 volts

Page 1 of 3    
BenandAmber
Guru

Posted: 01:40am 05 Aug 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I would like to put an extra alternator on my bus to help charge my battery Bank while I'm driving down the road

The bus is going to be all 110 volt electric

so going down the road I will still need to use my air conditioning so the alternator would offset any insufficiency of the solar panels hopfullly

I'm still new to solar and don't know what 3000 watts worth of solar will do for a bus

I will have more solar when I get to where I'm going and get set up

going down the road I will only have a little over 3000 Watts

So that's what I'll be using the alternator for but I'm hoping to be able to modify a regular alternator run 48 volts instead of 12 volts

I've heard this was possible I figured you guys on here would know the best way to do it
be warned i am good parrot but Dumber than a box of rocks

renewableMark

Guru

Posted: 02:52am 05 Aug 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There are a few ideas floating around, but I couldn't find anyone that actually did it successfully.

You can buy them new. Ebay Aus has a few, I'm sure USA will have a bigger selection.

3000w of panels is a lot for a bus.

You need to look at what appliances you plan to use in it, heating, cooling, cooking, hot water, refrigeration are the main culprits for energy consumption.

If you can use gas for cooking and hot water that will take the pressure off your system.
Edited 2019-08-05 14:30 by renewableMark
Cheers Caveman Mark
Off grid eastern Melb

johnmc