Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 18:26 09 Jul 2020 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Source of pcb boards

Author Message
stockleys
Regular Member

Joined: 21/06/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
Posted: 09:07pm 28 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Evening all

I am looking for recommendations for PCBs for my inverter build

Ian using a single Aerosharp 3kw toroid

I did see madness had a 12fet board that was tested good for 4kw but I think this was at 48v
I am doing 24v

Any suggestions?  
If so, who has them for sale?   I was going to buy a ready made board from AliExpress
But decided I would rather buy a naked board and populate it myself

Still undecided of controll board aswell
Leaning toward ozcontrol at the moment.
I’m not confident in the reliability of Arduino due to
Suffering 3 fail on me ( non critical operations)  

Thanks in advance
 
noneyabussiness
Senior Member

Joined: 31/07/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 265
Posted: 09:14pm 28 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

inverter board

If you got the dosh, i can definitely recommend these, i run 48v like others ,however this board comes ready and has handled everything ive thrown at it so far... just check over the board  when you receive it, mine had 16v caps where they should have been 25v by markings. Wasn't a deal breaker and if even important, but i swapped them out anyways...
I think it works !!
 
stockleys
Regular Member

Joined: 21/06/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
Posted: 09:29pm 28 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That board does look reasonable
Was thinking it might be cheaper to populate a naked board as I have SOME components here already.
 
stockleys
Regular Member

Joined: 21/06/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
Posted: 09:39pm 28 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Also, I’m hoping to use the Aerosharp cabinet.   I have a height of 260mm to play with.     That board is 316mm
 
renewableMark

Guru

Joined: 09/12/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 1566
Posted: 09:20am 29 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Forget about using one box to fit it all in.....particularly with your first build.

Mad sells the bigger board, John made it run on 24v, I think he may have changed one resistor for the tip 35.... can't remember.

Poidas Nano control board has run my house for well past a year now.(I think I have a spare).

The mad control board has a nano, but it's only for extra stuff, like low voltage shutdown etc, it doesn't need it to actually run the inverter.

If you feed nanos a stable voltage they are reliable as an old tractor.

Pity you wanted an OZ board, I just did a clean out and tossed one in the bin.
Edited 2020-05-29 19:23 by renewableMark
Cheers Caveman Mark
Off grid eastern Melb
 
stockleys
Regular Member

Joined: 21/06/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
Posted: 09:44am 29 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Damn that’s a shame.  
I am
Going to take a trip to the local scrap yard today to see what I can find

Hoping to do a trade as I have 2 batteries with shorted cells

Who would you recommend speaking to, to obtain a power board and a control board?
 
stockleys
Regular Member

Joined: 21/06/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
Posted: 02:48pm 29 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

No cabinets unfortunately
But I did swop the 2 batteries (70ah) for a 220ah
Did a drop test on it (started at 12.2v). Showed good.     So far since I put it on charge, it’s taken 90ah.
 
Warpspeed
Guru

Joined: 09/08/2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 3267
Posted: 10:12pm 29 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Forget about using one box to fit it all in.....particularly with your first build.

Mark is quite right.

Just get all the parts running together strung out along the workbench.  It will be much easier to work on, you can see and reach everything much more easily.

When its all finally tested and working, only then start thinking about any extra added features, any improvements, and how best to finally package it all.

Once you have built a couple of inverters, it all becomes much easier to plan ahead and avoid mistakes, and build something that is neat, readily accessible, comes apart easily, and is generally a joy to work on.

That all comes with experience.
Cheers, Tony.
 
brucedownunder2
Guru

Joined: 14/09/2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 1425
Posted: 10:13pm 29 May 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes Stocky,  as Mark and I have found out ,the Inspire box is just too small for all the stuff.

 I posted a pic of my gutted inspirit was too small for both the Torodial tranny and the boards..

Bruce
Bushboy
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2020