Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 20:14 20 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Driving multiple LEDs from 4000 series logic

thwill

Guru

Posted: 07:16pm 03 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi folks,

As some of you know I'm a programmer with minimal electronics ability; though time permitting I'm trying to remedy that, alas more thorough reading than practice.

I have a lot of jelly bean 4000 series logic chips (don't ask why, just assume I chose poorly). My question is how do l drive multiple LEDs from one of their outputs as they have very low source/sink current? I know (or can read) how to do this by using their output to drive a discrete transistor, but presumably there must also be both era appropriate and modern equivalent ICs for the task?

You don't need to go into detail initially unless you want to, just a few pointers to aid my failing google-fu will hopefully suffice.

Thanks,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures

TassyJim

Guru

Posted: 08:19pm 03 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The ULN2803A device is a high-voltage, high-current
(Single Output) Darlington transistor array. The device consists of
eight NPN Darlington pairs that feature high-voltage
outputs with common-cathode clamp diodes for
switching inductive loads. The collector-current rating
of each Darlington pair is 500 mA. The Darlington
pairs may be connected in parallel for higher current
capability.
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help

Warpspeed
Guru

Posted: 08:49pm 03 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Jim is spot on, the ULN2803A is the device of choice.