Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 05:15 29 Jan 2022 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : all home built solar system

     Page 9 of 9    
Author Message
Warpspeed
Guru

Joined: 09/08/2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 4384
Posted: 06:30am 13 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes one plug in central driver board that can be very quickly replaced if it dies. Although I am not sure paralleling is the best overall strategy.

How about one inverter for the main house load, perhaps a second for heavy airconditioner loads, that might be turned off most of the time.  
Maybe a third for some large workshop power tools, that might also be turned off sometimes.

If something smokes, a bit of unplugging and plugging in might get the show back on the road very quickly.

Another thing to think about.  If your only inverter dies after the grid has gone down, how do you fix it without power for soldering iron, oscilloscope etc ?

I only have one inverter, but its completely modular, and I have a full set of spare boards and multiple spare IGBT modules.  These can be very easily swapped out and I can replace whatever smoked by candle light if necessary, with nothing more than a screwdriver. Definitely no soldering required, no matter what.
Edited 2022-01-13 16:33 by Warpspeed
Cheers,  Tony.
 
Godoh
Senior Member

Joined: 26/09/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Posted: 06:56am 13 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Tony, Yep the multiple redundancy setup it best as far as I am concerned.
No Grid here, I do have a generator but have not started it for over a year now.
I really only use it for heavy welding jobs. Small welding the inverter runs my MIG welder fine.
I have two separate systems, on large system (5kw panels, 660 amp hour batteries),  for the house ( tiny house really) and one for a separate cabin.( 600 watts of panels 100 amp hour batteries.

Four inverters in all. One latronics 2.3kw, three 8010 based 2 and 3 kw units. That is the downrated real watts not Chinese watts.
I also have a gas soldering iron. and if all else fails well back to candles.
Your modular inverter sounds great.
Undoing lots of connections to get a board out to repair it can be painful.
I try to leave lots of room in my inverter boxes but still they can end up pretty tight once all the heavy cables are in.
Fortunately no air conditioner needed. We only ever get a couple of days a year near 30 degrees. The rest is low 20s in summer and around 0 to 10 in winter.
Perfect climate for me.
Cheers
Pete
 
Warpspeed
Guru

Joined: 09/08/2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 4384
Posted: 08:16am 13 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

It sounds lie you have it all pretty well covered.
Cheers,  Tony.
 
noneyabussiness
Guru

Joined: 31/07/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 389
Posted: 09:07am 13 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

suggestion about paralleling inverters, Poida was working on a sync code in his poidaverter, it ended up being quite a lot of trouble syncing with a random sinewave, but if you could use a common clock source ( another nano or heck a 555 would probably be enough) and any / all inverters synced to said signal, then you could literally sync as many in parallel as the clock source / noise would handle...
I think it works !!
 
Murphy's friend

Senior Member

Joined: 04/10/2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 230
Posted: 02:34pm 13 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  noneyabussiness said  suggestion about paralleling inverters, Poida was working on a sync code in his poidaverter, it ended up being quite a lot of trouble syncing with a random sinewave, but if you could use a common clock source ( another nano or heck a 555 would probably be enough) and any / all inverters synced to said signal, then you could literally sync as many in parallel as the clock source / noise would handle...


I played about with that syncing business of inverters. Yes, Poida's code works well to sync two sine wave inverters with no load on them.
The trouble is when it comes to power sharing. As it was the inverters (or an inverter and a inverter type genny) would not share power evenly unless there was some kind of current feedback in play.
I gave up then, it got too complicated for my limited knowledge.

I suppose the idea of using a single nano driving different inverters should work but involves creating a reliable driving signal connection between them.

Having more than one inverter works well for me if I run them independently. The house wiring for the lights and for GPO/power is separate, one inverter for each. A spare inverter could be put in service to power my shed & workshop if I wanted that.
 
Warpspeed
Guru

Joined: 09/08/2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 4384
Posted: 09:16pm 13 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Its much easier to sync to the grid, in fact grid tie inverters work exactly that way.

A small generator is going to be a real problem, because unless its one of the newer "inverter generator" type, the engine rpm varies with load. As soon as you apply a load, the thing slows down. The rpm/frequency and voltage will be up and down and all over the place, and an inverter has zero chance of keeping up with it.

If you need a generator to boost low solar in winter, much better to use it to charge the battery for a few hours as needed. Either that, or plug some or all loads straight into the generator direct.

Same with mixing wind, hydro, solar, or whatever.  
Much easier to do all your power combining at dc using a few diodes.
Cheers,  Tony.
 
Haxby

Guru

Joined: 07/07/2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 333
Posted: 01:02am 14 Jan 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes diode mixing DC is Soo easy and convenient, it's worth re-emphasizing.

Especially with solar as the whole system just balances itself automatically and you can add more sources easily as required.
 
     Page 9 of 9    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2022