Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 01:59 30 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Rafael Inverter project (Poida Powerboard + Picoverter)

Page 1 of 3    
flyingfishfinger

Posted: 02:57am 18 May 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi there-
For the sake of everyone (and my own) sanity, I'll gather everything here instead of asking a bunch of questions in different threads.

Firstly please bear with me, I'm new at this (high power electronics) but otherwise come equipped with solid EE skills as my profession(PCB design as well)  and have access to a decent lab at work. It's geared towards nano & microamps, but the usual test equipment exists.

So, I'd like to construct a 3-5kW inverter to output 120V (I'm in the US) from 24V lead-acid batteries for our off-grid spot.

It looks like Peter's new Picoverter and Powerboard will do the job for a fully DIY build.

To start off, some dumb questions (or confirmation thereof):

General required parts:

- Powerboard
- Picoverter (+ Nano)
- Transformer (DIY toroid)
- 2x chokes
- (Heat sink)

Have I missed anything in the above list as far as major components go? This is what I've taken from reading various threads.

Regarding power: What's a reasonable upper limit I can expect to get out of this design?

Regarding the transformer: We don't have many (any?) dead inverters / Aerosharps over here to harvest parts from, what kind of core do I need to be looking for? What is used for the chokes?

Regarding capacitors: If not new, these can be harvested from ATX power supplies?

Regarding PCBs: I use JLCPCB regularly, sourcing boards and parts isn't an issue.