Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 02:44 28 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Cop(per) out. Aluminium in, new FP stator

Wind Hunter

Posted: 08:20am 21 Nov 2008
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all,

Newbie here. I have been studying this fantastic site for a few months now. My initial intention is to make a Lenz2 type HAWT (out of stainless steel). Ribs have been laser cut and foil to be rolled next week.

Today I finally took possession of my first F&P 36 pole motor. ($0.00)

I am on a roll, or so I thought!

I have been reliably informed that this particular new 36 pole F&P stator no longer uses copper wire, aluminium is used instead, WTF. This will probably not be a worry for me as it would appear from various postings on this site that the factory wiring is OK for a slow windmill. It will be interesting to find out what additional losses are associated with Al vs Cu.

The problem will arise if one was interested in doing a re-wire. Aluminium is none too easy to solder! .

I may have to scrap the stator and use the 48 magnet hub in a cogless re-wire job, or completely re-wire the stator.

I shall post pictures of my SS Lenz2 as it progresses.

P.S. My 'reliable source' is the Sydney Service Manager of F&P.

Hunter Valley NSW.
Life is too short to drink cheap wine .

brucedownunder2
Guru

Posted: 08:26pm 21 Nov 2008
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Interesting,, they built the early small motors with Al windings(gentle Annie,I think they got as a nickname).. I have a couple and years ago re-configured the windings ,but up in the air ,they are too coggy..
The wire connections were almost impossible,F&P used sealed crimps.. to copper tails.