Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 20:39 28 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Homemade charge controllers

Archinaut

Posted: 12:01am 11 Dec 2008
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Please excuse the noob question. But I never realized how easy it was to get in to DIY sustainable energy. I'm an architectural designer with about 7 years professional experience and I plan on doing my part to contribute my expertise in exchange for some help of my own.

I'm building a small wind turbine system before I try to undertake a larger turbine project.

MY question is:
How well to charge controller scale? For instance if I build one for my small project, when will I need an upgrade?

My project:
I bought a 140 cont. 400 surge inverter off ebay for $2 (good buy I think).

I plan on starting with one 12v deep cycle battery.

I need a charge controller but as I scale up I don't want to have to keep buying stuff I may not need to if I properly prepare.

I'd like to build a controller if possible that fits my plans. But I'm not sure if the diagrams I found will work for larger systems.

I appreciate any help.
-Michael

GWatPE

Posted: 02:46am 11 Dec 2008
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Archinaut,

The charge controller/diversion load is usually matched to the maximum source power. Grid connect inverters do allow dynamic control over a wide power input range, but would require a backup. PWM type controllers perform a similar function, but usually have a resistive dump.