Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 06:00 02 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Permanent mag alternator

mutzy

Posted: 05:50pm 06 Aug 2009
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I am brand new to both this board but am interested in windpower and trying to make a permanent magnet alternator from a car alternator. I removed the rotor and replaced with three permanent mags all with same polarity. When tested on lathe with multimeter doesn't seem to be working. Any suggestions on what I've done wrong or other things to try? I've only tried at very low rpm to this point. Thanks!!

Gizmo

Admin Group

Posted: 08:18am 07 Aug 2009
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Mutzy

Its not a good configuration your've gone for there, but it should still make something. How were you measuring the output? Did you use a multimeter across two of the 3 wires, and was your multimeter set to AC volts?

Do you still have the original armature, and if you do, how many poles ( fingers ) did it have? Half the fingers will be coming from one end of the armature, and half from the other end. To make you alternator work the best, you should use the same number of magnets as there were poles on the original armature.

Glenn
The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago, the second best time is right now.
JAQ

Greenbelt

Guru

Posted: 01:52pm 07 Aug 2009
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Time has proven that I am blind to the Obvious, some of the above may be True?

mutzy

Posted: 02:37pm 07 Aug 2009
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I appreciate the input greatly and you all have giving me some direction to pursue. Thanks again!!!

mutzy

Posted: 02:45am 09 Aug 2009