Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 15:46 29 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : stator output help

djbrooksy

Posted: 12:06pm 01 Feb 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

HI to everyone
Sorry for posting such a noob question i hope i at least
posted in the right spot.
A bit of background info i have been playing with a custom fuel injection set up on a single cylinder motorbike and have ran into a bit of a problem. All was going great till i went to power it all from the stator. when the bike's
rpm is low the stators output is to low to power the system and charge the battery

but when i started playing around with the magneto i found that there is only 3 magnets with plenty of room to add 3 more in between the three already there

now before i go destroy a magneto, in my noob way of thinking with 3 more magnets in there and the bike at idle. In around about way i have doubled the surface speed of the magnets and doubled the output

could someone please confirm or shoot me down in fames

cheers mick

Joblow

Posted: 12:52pm 01 Feb 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

How are you defining low revs? could be anything from idle to 2000 I would think for single cyl bike, if you haven't enough power from the alternator for the bike to run at idle there could be a fault in the battery or charging components because a fully charged battery sould be ok for a bit of drawdown and would recharge when you sped up
The man who never made a mistake never made anything

Downwind

Guru

Posted: 02:36pm 01 Feb 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi djBrooksy

A good mate of mine rewinds stators for bikes and all electrical systems for bikes etc.