Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 02:13 06 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Turn on motor when sunny

TomB19

Posted: 07:52pm 16 Jun 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm new to solar power.

I need something that will turn on a 24v (0.75A) motor when the sun is shining (and battery bank is charging). Banks and panels will be 24v too. It needs to be sufficiently buffered that it doesn't send PWM type power to the motor during transition periods and burn out the motor.

Is there a battery charge controller that has this feature?

Thanks!Edited by TomB19 2010-06-18

niall1

Posted: 10:05pm 16 Jun 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hi Tom

i think most off the basic solar battery charge controllers will only usually look after the batt condition .....at least i think thats what the simpler ones do

it sounds like you need some type off independent voltage controlled switch for the motor which activates a relay when your batts are in nice condition ...if you feel you might want to build your own Glenns charge controller circuit could i think be adapted to suit this purpose , if you just want a ready made solution there are a few nice small commercial units available .....all be it at extra cost ..

erm one thing is confusing me though....

you say you need it to operate during daylight only ....is this during charge time or
does it matter if the batteries continue to run the motor a little later after daylight ?

if you have surplus capacity in the batts a voltage controlled switch could run for quite a while after daylight