Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 21:21 07 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Grid tie hook-up

colray

Posted: 05:23am 27 Aug 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi everyone, another newbie here,
I intend to hook-up both PV panels and wind power to the grid in Qld, and would appreciate any help offered. Given that there are grid tie inverters with multiple inputs I'm wondering if I can feed power from an F&P generator into one without a battery system. Any ideas on the the best wiring configuration of the many available that gives the most suitable inverter input voltage , in average wind conditions,light to moderate mostly, for a not-so-fast vawt? I am making one at present and will have an idea soon as to output power with the 7phase 2x3C set-up. Also, I can easily run two F&P motors off the one vawt to increase output power. Can I connect the two together through a common rectifier bank, or is it best to rectify separately and feed into different inputs? A local firm has a 2KW PV array, comprising 11x185W panels plus a grid tie inverter for $5,400. They say it averages about 7.5 to 8KW/hrs output per day, which will just about meet my needs; The wind system is both a project and a means of recouping money if I can send enough back to the grid.
techonogical misfit

KarlJ

Guru

Posted: 08:58am 29 Aug 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Only way it will work is with a PVE 2500.
for that you would need batteries and a turbine controller.

My suggestion get the 2KW Pv and do the turbine separatley with a PVE 1200 at $1600.
use a turbine controller at another $600 and you're done.