Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 20:16 29 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : Batteries

Page 1 of 2    
kando

Posted: 10:39am 30 Oct 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

G'day,

I'm new to generating my own power and this forum, so please excuse me when I make mistakes.

I find things pretty confusing...Pumps and other electrical gear, like solar panels and wind generators are rated in xxWatts, while batteries are ratted at xxAH!
I guess it's like anything else in life, it's confusing and hard when you don't know how but...Once you learn...It becomes easy/er...I hope

Anyway, I have a question, how many 12v x 100AH deep cycle batteries would I need to drive three pumps, 24/7, with the a total power rating of 600W?

Second question, would a solar panel of 200W and a wind generator of 300-400W maximum, be enough to keep the number of batteries I need, up to scratch?

I thank you in advance for your advice.

Bill
Australia,Edited by kando 2010-10-31
You can do anything...With the "right" advice

Tinker

Guru

Posted: 01:22pm 30 Oct 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Bill,
It will get easier if you persevere reading every post on this forum

With deep cycle (and basically all lead acid batteries) if you use more than 20% of their total capacity repeatedly before recharging them you do shorten their life considerably. So, for your proposed 100Ah batteries consider each only delivers 20Ah before it should be recharged.

Solar recharging only happens at daylight hours, wind could blow anytime but is not as reliable as solar at my location - don't know how it would perform at your place.