Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 07:10 19 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : low voltage relay switch

brianeeg

Posted: 04:50am 16 Jun 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi. I am rather new to this so please excuse my ignorance.
O.K I have a wind gen along with a solar panel and small pico hydro. I charge 4 x 12v batteries two in series to give me 24v this I put thru a 24v to 240 v inverter, the type with built in charger. I use this power to run my house water pump, only problem is when the voltage drops to 23 the inverter shuts down and sounds an alarm
I need a switching device to cut in the units charger at say 23v and shut it off again at say 29v? as it is it is a pain having to run down to manually switch the charger dripping wet when the shower cuts out :-) any help appreciated.

brianeeg

darcyrandall200

Posted: 01:45pm 16 Jun 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Perhaps this would suit you. Choose R20 such that the battery is opened at 29V.
Choose R21 such that K1 is unlatched at 23V.

You may wish to modify the circuit such that when the Battery is open, the windmill feeds a dump load. Also consider placing diodes across the coils.
Thankyou.

Regards Darcy Randall, Perth Western Australia

darcyrandall200

Posted: 01:47pm 16 Jun 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sorry didnt read your message entirely. Use K2 to switch in the charger at 23V.
Thankyou.

brianeeg

Posted: 11:18pm 16 Jun 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Darcy. but I am unable to view the small drawing,[did try zooming in paint but blurred]
could you please resend in larger format. thanks and regards Brian
brianeeg

powerednut