Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 21:42 30 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : PC board and Circuit Design

jamarc

Posted: 09:10am 19 Nov 2007
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Does anyone have a great PC board and or Circuit Design program that they can recommend. One that is a reasonable cost and works well to produce PC boards.

Bryan1

Guru

Posted: 09:19am 19 Nov 2007
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hiya Jamarc,
I use Splan for schematics, lochmaster for veroboard design ans sprint layout for circuitboard design. Their website is here. I've been using them for a few years now and for the layman not experienced in electronics they are the way to go in my opnion.

Hope this helps

Cheers Bryan

Gill

Posted: 11:11am 19 Nov 2007
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

G'day jamarc,
Was looking for a stripboard(Veroboard) designer a while ago and whilst Bryan1's recommendation is reputed to be the best, I got the second best at http://www.geocities.com/stripboarddesigner I'm on my second version of this program and whilst it is not free, a free full trial version can downloaded. In spite the appearance that created circuits cannot be saved, this is not so, there is a simple trick that makes it happen.
First save the file and accept the 60,000 second delay, then go to open another file and you will be asked to save existing work. Click 'yes' then open any file (reopening the same one is my usual). That's it. Done. Saved and for free.
There is one piss-off with it in that there is no undo feature. Maybe mext version? I can send you my created components file if you want a few more basic components.