![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : MMBasic for Windows - pre-alphas
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
mclout999 Guru ![]() Joined: 05/07/2020 Location: United StatesPosts: 483 |
Sorry if I have missed it somewhere here but is there a command or directive to set the default path to the folder it runs from. I am defaulting to a folder in \\\Onedrive\Documents. Thanks. |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6223 |
OPTION DEFAULT PATH "directory" to select the directory from where on startup you want to be able to load programs. This must be a fully specified filepath e.g. OPTION DEFAULT PATH "C:/USERS/PETER/DOCUMENTS/MMB4W". The filepath must exist. Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
panky![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 02/10/2012 Location: AustraliaPosts: 1111 |
On my Dell Inspiron laptop running W11, I get the same. Under Device Manager, there are no COM ports listed and this is because in this laptop, there are no COM ports, only USB. If I connect up a Picomite, or in fact, any USB to serial device/adaptor, the associated COM port is correctly identified. Doug. ... almost all of the Maximites, the MicromMites, the MM Extremes, the ArmMites, the PicoMite and loving it! |
||||
goc30![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 12/04/2017 Location: FrancePosts: 435 |
I said "aviable", not "active". it means (my English is not good) that it displays all the COMports installed for the first time (used or not currently used), it was created so that the COM drivers know the first free COM number it can use. After with key value, developer should test whether device is active or not by reading port status or sending 1 byte and wait for timeout, for error, or with your MMBasic function: "? Comports(xx)" Also, this register key is use to cleanning all comport not active or desinstalled but always registred Edited 2022-02-12 11:58 by goc30 |
||||
Michal Senior Member ![]() Joined: 02/02/2022 Location: PolandPosts: 125 |
Hi matherp, Have you thought about the Pi-cromite bare metal version? On Raspberry Pi Zero and Zero2W it would be an absolute hit. Michal |
||||
Mixtel90![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 05/10/2019 Location: United KingdomPosts: 7531 |
@Michal Yes, it's been thought about. There was a Raspberry Pi version some time ago but, because of the frequent changes made to the Pi's OS, it became impractical to support it. AFAIK there are no plans to work on any versions specifically for the Raspberry Pi boards now. https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/ViewTopic.php?TID=14155&PID=177329#177329#177329 ======================= Back on topic: I love all these COM ports. It appears I have 7571644 of them and Not enough memory. :) System is Windows 10 Pro 64 Build:21H2 Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU N3450 @ 1.10GHz 1.10 GHz 4GB RAM Edited 2022-02-12 22:34 by Mixtel90 Mick Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10075 |
pa16 MMBasic.zip Support for serial comms (any or all of com1 - com63) Fix for SAVE IMAGE Fix for list ports if no ports available Parameters available for serial comms - syntax same as all other MMbasic Baudrate as specified, default if not 9600 Receive Buffer size as specified, default if not 256 Receive Interrupt can be specified - default no interrupt Receive Interrupt count can be specified - default 1 Parity - default none Available: EVEN, ODD, MARK, SPACE Data Bits - default 8 Available 7BIT Stop bits - default 1 Available S2, S1P5 (1.5bits) INV not implemented RS485 not implemented NOTE serial output is currently blocking and the time taken will depend on the baudrate Edited 2022-02-13 02:07 by matherp |
||||
Michal Senior Member ![]() Joined: 02/02/2022 Location: PolandPosts: 125 |
Yes, it's been thought about. There was a Raspberry Pi version some time ago but, because of the frequent changes made to the Pi's OS, it became impractical to support it. I was talking about bare metal that won't change. But the graphics version on MMBASIC on Debian for Pi Zero would be very attractive too. Pi Zero has too little RAM for modern Linux, which can be seen at startup and when trying to open pages in the browser. He is such an ultra-cool microcontroller forced to fight Linux. |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10075 |
Yes and the answer is a resounding NO Please start a different thread to discuss off-topic issues Edited 2022-02-13 02:55 by matherp |
||||
Michal Senior Member ![]() Joined: 02/02/2022 Location: PolandPosts: 125 |
Sorry to disturb the thread. This only occurred to me when I saw the performance of your version for Windows. Michal |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10075 |
pa17 MMBasic.zip Includes the 3d engine from the CMM2. See video Fixes bug where the page command caused subsequent edits to not show the status line Demo source test3d.zip |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6223 |
SAVE IMAGE is almost right. Any 0A gets converted to 0D0A resulting in a corrupted image The attached ZIP has a good and bad screen dump. The problem starts around 1BC0 BMP .zip Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10075 |
Please try again MMBasic.zip |
||||
flip Senior Member ![]() Joined: 18/07/2016 Location: AustraliaPosts: 114 |
Hi, I posted an issue on 31st Jan...just wondering if anyone else having same problem or is it just me? and ideas? All newer versions (up-to and including pa5) open initial black window and nothing happens after that el-cheapo Pendo Atom 32 bit Win10 Regards Phil |
||||
Plasmamac![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 31/01/2019 Location: GermanyPosts: 572 |
hmm , no luck with serial port . anyone with some testcode ? thx Plasma |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6223 |
no luck with serial port . anyone with some testcode ? thx Test code on my CMM2 'echotest do k$ = inkey$ if k$<>"" then print k$; loop test code on MMB4W open "COM11:230400" as #2 do k$ = inkey$ if k$ <>"" then print #2,k$; if loc(#2) > 0 then j$ = input$(loc(#2),#2) print j$; endif loop It doesn't work on a pico if you are using the USB. For the pico to send data to the PC, the PC needs DTR asserted. The pico will receive data OK, just won't respond. Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
TassyJim![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2011 Location: AustraliaPosts: 6223 |
SAVE IMAGE now works correctly. But... Changing MODE opens a new window without closing the 'old' graphics window. I also seem to need a pause before changing modes again, probably related to the above. Jim VK7JH MMedit |
||||
matherp Guru ![]() Joined: 11/12/2012 Location: United KingdomPosts: 10075 |
I tested serial between two ports on the PC and didn't see the issue but please retest with the attached MMBasic.zip Also, please let me know if the mode issue has gone away (think it was related to work on sound support) Possibly that the graphics thread isn't fully operational before the Basic firmware starts to try to write to it. I've tried to put in an interlock but have nothing similar to test on and first time I tried something similar it didn't work. Please report if this version now works for you. Edited 2022-02-13 20:44 by matherp |
||||
Romeo![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 11/02/2022 Location: FrancePosts: 24 |
Hi guys, newcomer here, pleased to meet you all. ![]() Right into the problem: FRAMEBUFFER WRITE crashes MMBasic.exe, so does PAGE WRITE FRAMEBUFFER (after having created the FRAMEBUFFER, obviously) Others commands related to FRAMEBUFFER seem to work (WINDOW,BACKUP, etc) dispite I cannot test them, as I cannot write into the FB (at least, they do not crash). I tested the executable on two separate machines, both running Windows 8.1 (64 and 32bits). Sniffing the problem with tools from Sysinternals (ProcessMonitor) shows the video card driver is involved (NVidia for 1 of my PC) and Windows Error Reporter specifies the memory cannot be writen, but I have never had any problem with my VC driver, so I do not suspected it. My questions then are: -who else has this problem? -where does the FB is created in memory? Are the PAGES created in process memory, and FB elsewhere? Thanks for any help. (tested on 5.07.03pa18 right now) (sorry to mix my problem with the current COM PORTS subject, one problem at a time would be better, but hey, I'm in deep need of this wonderful FRAMEBUFFER SCROLL feature! ![]() |
||||
KD5ZXG Regular Member ![]() Joined: 21/01/2022 Location: United StatesPosts: 53 |
pa18. I'm in mode 9 , font 2,1 , with a US Keyboard. COLOR n,n (any n,n but lets say 15,0 for white on black) makes new typed text not visible. Old text still on screen remains visible. MMBasic hasn't entirely locked up, as it still responds when I type EDIT, even if I can't observe myself typing. Once in the full screen editor, I can see what I'm typing again. And when I ESCape, back to invisible typing. Restarting MMBasic clears the problem, it doesn't persist across restart. CLS doesn't seem to know any color but black either... Edited 2022-02-13 22:07 by KD5ZXG |
||||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia. | © JAQ Software 2025 |