![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Launch of Annex WiFi RDS
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Author | Message | ||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
Hi all, for Cyberlab : Probably your module works only in DOUT mode and your incorrect parameter (-fm gave) simply push esptool with the default flash mode (that is DOUT in annex.bin). You can simply use the utility, check "advanced options" and select DOUT. Then you'll be able to flash the module including the data. For Quazee137: The wifiless version is diametrically opposed to the philosophy of Annex so there are no chances for you. ![]() The concept is to be able to program and admin modules that are installed somewhere in non-accessible places or without requiring to open boxes and connect cables. I invite you to join the annex forum here and have a look at the FAQ here for more details. cicciocb |
||||
CYBERLAB Newbie ![]() Joined: 08/08/2017 Location: MexicoPosts: 26 |
hello ciccocb, yes it is working! thanks! |
||||
tomxp411 Newbie ![]() Joined: 04/04/2019 Location: United StatesPosts: 24 |
Hi, I'm looking at and appreciate this project - it might be just what I was looking for to program the ESP8266. The only question I have is whether there's functionality for directly sending and receiving UDP packets and TCP streams. I am trying to build a terminal server, which would allow a Maximite, RunCPM, or Altair to be controlled remotely via a Telnet client. I'm a little unclear, even after looking at the documentation, about how the sockets system works. Usually, I'd expect to see something like: Connect(address,port,callback) Listen(port,callback) Send(message) Received(sender, message) // signature of the callback method for received data. But I can't find anything in the API that seems to deal with TCP or UDP packets. |
||||
atmega8![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 723 |
That is really cool!!! espbasic was just the beginning! THX |
||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
Hi tomxp411, Annex supports both UDP and TCP (http). There is a little example in the documentation on how use the UDP here : UDP event In addition the AnnexToolkit contains a page dedicated to the development of the UDP: For the TCP (http), there are several examples in the documentation on how use it. You can find more information here : URL Event cicciocb |
||||
tomxp411 Newbie ![]() Joined: 04/04/2019 Location: United StatesPosts: 24 |
Does this allow you to open a TCP port and send data asynchronously? It looks like this only supports HTTP, which is not what I need. The example doesn't explain how to read the raw data from the incoming packet or how to send data without packaging it up as an http request or response. |
||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
The example shows how use the http. Basically permit to exchange easily between web pages and Annex using AJAX. Depending on your application you could use http as this can be completely async. Using a TCP connection will involve all the complexity linked to the establishment and the maintain of the connection so, probably you may just use the UDP that is very simple to handle. |
||||
tomxp411 Newbie ![]() Joined: 04/04/2019 Location: United StatesPosts: 24 |
So that's a no, then? |
||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
There is http and UDP. If you want a direct TCP is not (yet) supported simply because using http is much easier. Maybe you could explain a little bit about your application. How you want connect to the module? |
||||
tomxp411 Newbie ![]() Joined: 04/04/2019 Location: United StatesPosts: 24 |
I'm building a terminal server, also called a "WiFi modem." This uses either raw TCP or Telnet connections (Telnet has some device negotiation stuff on the channel) to communicate with a Telnet or terminal client on a PC or Linux computer, or another terminal server hooked up to a serial device. Basically, this replaces the USB cable or serial cable when you want to connect to a Maximite or Micromite from a desktop computer. It can also be used as a replacement for a dialup modem for vintage computers, like the Commodore 64 or Apple II to connect to Internet BBSs. Here's an example of someone using a WiFi modem with a Commodore 64: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fX3k6EZsZCM Here's the Altairduino playing "Star Trek": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfuq8hTsoiI What I'm trying to do is build a similar module for the Color Maximite that I can solder directly into the "sea of holes" and connect to COM1 or COM2 internally. Then I'm going to use the Maximite as a wireless terminal for the Altairduino, access the Altair from other computers (even remotely over the Internet), and use the Maximite as a terminal to access BBSs on the Internet. |
||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
Probably what you need isESP-LINK You can also write your "Star Trek" programs directly into Annex. After all, it's basic. |
||||
atmega8![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 723 |
Hi, when will online Help be available on your Website? |
||||
atmega8![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 723 |
Site is unavailable |
||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
Hi Atmega8, sorry for the late answer. The site is OK now, still don't know why it was down yesterday. |
||||
atmega8![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 723 |
The site is OK now, still don't know why it was down yesterday. Hi, everything is workin ok now. seems ist was a temporary problem. Please let me ask one question regarding annex and web access to the applications. I made a litte sample project wit a DS18b20. When switching from editor to output menue (http://10.1.47.11/output?menu) i can see my temperatures but on top of the page also the complete menue.. Ok for development, but not for the application i want to programm. How can i achieve only to see my html output , but not the menue? THX Dietmar |
||||
atmega8![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 723 |
The Code: 'Simple web page showing the information 'from a DS18B20 sensor PIN_Sensor = 4 'pin used for the DS18B20 t$ = tempr$(PIN_Sensor, 1) onHtmlReload DoPage gosub DoPage timer0 5000, update wait DoPage: cls html TextBox$(t$) + " ° Celsius" return update: t$ =tempr$(PIN_Sensor, 1) Print "The Temperature 1 is ";TEMPR$(PIN_Sensor, 1) ; "°C" print t$ refresh return end |
||||
cicciocb Regular Member ![]() Joined: 29/04/2014 Location: FrancePosts: 71 |
The menu in the output page can be removed checking the option "Menu bar Disable" present in the config page : |
||||
atmega8![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 19/11/2013 Location: GermanyPosts: 723 |
Works like a charme ;-) THX for your rapid response! |
||||
Quazee137![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 07/08/2016 Location: United StatesPosts: 586 |
cicciocb I played with it for a few days and it's great. I'll play with it more later as the current project is a paid for project and as your site states this can not be used for paid projects Page 3 of this post I asked "Can I use the firmware (.bin) and code I write on non personal projects?" ??? Another project will not allow code to be changed without direct contact to the equipment for security reasons. It can not have internet access. There are a few ESP8266's setup as honeypots to catch hacking attempts to the main system. I did get ESP Easy to work as needed. I can now send GPIO states back and forth from unit#1 and unit#2. Next is to secure the link. Using rules is very different than writing code as your locked into what they have for you to use and how to use them. Even with ESP Easy it took me a few days to get it working. The wiki is setup as if you know all about the setup / protocols. If one is totally new to all this it's like trying to learn 3 or more languages at once. Some basic tutorials would be nice explaining the many ways the setup can be done. Quazee137 Keep up the good work. I have sent a few friends to the site. |
||||
viscomjim Guru ![]() Joined: 08/01/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 925 |
there are a few demo videos added to the sight. I am really liking annex. The html learning curve is there since I have little experience, however the basic is quite powerful and reminds me a lot of mmbasic. Demo Videos |
||||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia. | © JAQ Software 2025 |